On Books…

I have just finished reading The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson.  I could not put it down, in spite of the fact that it is 563 pages, and since I have to read in bed, quite heavy (hardcover, as it just came out). This is the last book of the trilogy, and it ends well, in the sense that the main character does not go through a sudden change, something I was afraid would happen. It is a very satisfying read, and now I want to go back to the first two, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl who played with Fire, and read them again.

I am glad I have all these good books waiting for me, because I have to spend a good part of the day in bed.  I keep getting recommendations all the time.

The one I didn’t like is The Invisible Mountain, by Carolina de Robertis, in spite of the fact that a friend had recommended it.  I think she had not read Gabriel García Márquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude or Isabel Allende’s The House of the Spirits…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Books…

  1. We saw Isabel Allende on TV the other day (I think the News Hour), so she must have a new book out. Haven’t read the “Girl” books.

  2. martisima says:

    Yes, I saw it too. She was talking about her new book Island Beneath the Sea. I just got it. It has to do mostly with Haiti.

Leave a Reply

