Of thyroid medication, driving, and boat

They called from the Apothecary (Village Green).  My thyroid compound will be ready on Friday.

Dr. Harold Goodman, our osteopath, had a free day and he “made” Guido go to the boat with him!  There is our boat,  Water Music, a 32′ Grand Banks, at Hartge Yacht Harbor, and we have not been able to sail even once since we bought it over a year ago…  At least, Guido could go and see it and talk to it.  A great step towards recovery!

Since he was away most of the day and I needed a few groceries, I decided to drive myself to the closest store.  I could not believe that it would be so difficult — I had almost forgotten how to unlock the doors and how to set the air conditioning!  So, it was a good thing I did it, even though I got very tired.

Dr. Goodman told Guido he also treats patents for thyroid problems, and that I’ll feel better when I reach the higher dosage in two months.  They cannot raise it too much at once.  Funny — I have been going to him for 12 years to get osteopathic treatment, which has been great, but I never knew he was also an expert in thyroid problems.  Anyway, it’s OK as it its now.  He does not believe in blood tests, and I don’t rely too much on them either, but they need to be done, especially the ones for adrenal function. Dr. Hedaya does all those.

Tomorrow I need to go and get my weekly B-12 injection, plus having more blood drawn for Lipid panel and Ferritin tests requested by Dr. Hedaya. I am hopeful that now, with the natural thyroid, things will be better, even though it will take time, and I have not been well since my surgery, TEN months ago!!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of thyroid medication, driving, and boat

  1. It’s good to get updates this way–I feel like I can keep in touch more with what’s going on, since you might not e-mail as often as you might post a blog. We’ll have to set up your site so people can sign up for e-mail notifications if they want them, so they’ll know when you have a new post.

  2. martisima says:

    True, dear daughter! It is easier to post a blog than to send an e-mail, especially when you are allowing people to decide on whether to read it or not! Let’s set up the site for those who want to send e-mail notifications this weekend.

Leave a Reply

