More on Thyroid Medication and Doctors

Friends keep asking me if I am better now that I am taking the (natural) desiccated thyroid medication in a new dosage.  I know they mean well and are interested, but it doesn’t work this way.  First of all, with any new dosage, you need to wait a few weeks before you feel any difference.  Secondly, my dosage has been raised from 60mg to 90mg.  According to the latest findings, once I reach the 150mg dosage I will begin to notice the difference.  The dosage cannot be raised too fast.  It normally is done in increments of 30mg. So, you can tell how long I still have to wait to get there from the current 90mg (equivalent to 1 ½  grains…)

I hope that now you can understand why I am still not getting well.  I had just started with the natural thyroid, after Synthroid was not helping much.  I have also started with a new (holistic) endocrinologist who is more enlightened than the previous one and my pcp!  I had ordered the previous natural thyroid from Canada, but Dr. Hedaya ordered a compound from The Village Green Apothecary.  We are very fortunate to have it in this area!!!  There are some positive aspects to living here…

In addition, I am reading a lot about this, something doctors do not like us poor lowly patients to do.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More on Thyroid Medication and Doctors

  1. It’s good that you’re educating yourself about this. How often do they raise the dosage?

  2. martisima says:

    I need to have blood tests every four weeks, and then they decide. However, it also says in the book that the tests can look fine, but the symptoms may persist. That’s why Dr. Goodman treats thyroid problems without having patients get blood tests. Still, they do help some.

  3. Rafael says:

    It seems that the more we learn about our bodies, the more we can justifiably wonder at how well they can manage even under duress. I’m glad you’re writing this blog. You are a reporter on yourself! Your observations and reflections on your experience may even help others in similar straits. So keep it up!

    I wish we could be near you and Guido to just be there, you know?

  4. martisima says:

    Hi Rafael! I am glad to know that you think this may help others too. I do hope so! And I am learning a lot myself. It also helps writing about it, as it puts things in perspective.

    And thanks for wishing you could be near us. I truly appreciate the thought!!!

Leave a Reply

