More on Thyroid and People’s Behavior

I am still not well at all, hoping that I will get better soon, who knows? It is not easy, as Guido now is the one who takes care of me. And people seem to forget that he is not well either. They see that he can drive, and that makes them think he is well. Even the neighbor from across the street screamed “You are walking!” when she saw him! Funny…

And then, people surprise me. When I saw the list of people who had donated to Rosana’s fundraising efforts for GRID Alternatives solarthon and their mission to empower communities in need with renewable energy and energy-efficiency services, equipment, and training, I realized that some who do not even know her had given considerable amounts. These were mostly my former students!

I just got this Newsletter, and thought it may be a good idea to post it here. It may help others, and I will always have it around:

Stop The Thyroid Madness Newsletter

Do you know someone who is defensive, paranoid and/or frequently anxietal??

Posted: 08 Jun 2010 10:40 AM PDT

It happens often–someone will join a patient group, and right off the bat, you notice they are very defensive about certain subjects, know-it-all argumentative, condescendingly overbearing, and/or paranoid. They may quickly fly off the handle. They can also be childish in their reactions, obsessive about certain topics or people, mistrustful of others, forgetful, combative, and/or jittery.

Even worse, combine someone with intelligence and a way with words along with all of the above, and you’ve got a royal pain in the butt. And the worst part? Most have no idea how badly they are manifesting the above.

It’s called adrenal fatigue. It starts out with excessively high cortisol, then falls to low cortisol with a basket full of consequences when it comes to coping and interacting with life and people. i.e. those with adrenal fatigue are all the above and more. And it’s very very common among thyroid patients thanks to being left undiagnosed due to the lousy TSH lab test, or being put on T4 medications like Synthroid, Levoxyl, levothyroxine, etc. It’s also unfortunately common for many doctors to deny its existence or be clueless on how to treat it. So you can imagine the thrill when we hear of a few who are listening!

You can read about this condition here. Or, there are more details in Chapters 5 and 6 in the Stop the Thyroid Madness book. There appear to be a huge body of thyroid patients with this condition–at least 50% or more–and it’s a topic that needs understanding and a condition that needs the right treatment.

**********************************

Janie will be on two radio shows this weekend, and these will be good to recommend to your family and friends of whom you think need to hear about desiccated thyroid and better treatment strategies:

* SATURDAY: Michigan Talk Network’s “Health and Wellness Show” by Dr. John Wycoff, D.O., an educational & patient interactive call radio show. Two hours long. Live steam here: http://www.wjimam.com/plus more information here: http://www.michigantalknetwork.com/dr%20wycoff/new/hws_home.html  Time: 6 am Pacific, 7 am Mountain (groan), 8 am Central and 9 am Eastern. Dr. Wycoff and I will talk about problems with thyroid treatment, desiccated thyroid and better treatment strategies

* SUNDAY: Just Ask Nish, a new TRN nationally syndicated radio show heard on 53 stations in 1400 cities. Time: 10am Pacific, 11 am Mountain, 12 noon Central and 1 pm Eastern http://ask-nish.com/radio_justasknish.php The host is Nisha Jackson, N.D. who has 18 years of experience in research and practice, as well as multiple T.V. appearances, motivational speaking, and two other radio shows (although this is her largest). I’ll be talking about thyroid issues and well as better treatment strategies.

http://www.stopthethyroidmadness.com

Advertisements

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More on Thyroid and People’s Behavior

  1. How funny, hadn’t the neighbor seen him walking before?

  2. martisima says:

    Apparently, she hadn’t. She was out there all the times the ambulance and firetrucks came, but this was a long time ago. He has been out and walking for some time now, and that makes people think he is cured! Maybe the thought of the ambulances and all the times he was taken out on a stretcher had a strong impression on her…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s