Friends and Support Groups

Once again, while reading Harlan Coben’s Caught, I came across a comment that I found very appropriate to our situation.  In the novel it applies to someone’s death, but it can be equally applied to a long illness.  It says “Grief is devastating, all-consuming.  But grief merely visits friends, even the closest.  It stays much longer … with the family…”

We have lost many friends along the road during these past four years, and we will certainly lose even more.  Some have dropped us, but we have dropped others. That’s why I continue to insist that blogs and Facebook are much better than collective messages.  We are not defiling anyone’s email box nor intruding in their lives.  As with our Facebook friends, they read what they want in this blog, and they respond as they see fit or not at all.

I want to continue singing the praises of Facebook.  It connects me to the world, as I had already said, and I have “found” many old friends and made new ones.  But what is most important is that today I got a message to the members of Stop The Thyroid Madness, a group I have joined.  These messages help enormously!  And I can only get them through Facebook.  They are a great support group, as I don’t need to be in a specific place at a specific time – it is 7/24, 365 days!!!

I need to be in touch with people who understand how I feel and what I am going through, even if I don’t know them. I feel better reading what they post, I can ask them questions, and I learn a lot from them.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friends and Support Groups

  1. That’s a great use of the Internet!

Leave a Reply

