Of Books and Blogs- Updated

I have been reading a lot, but it has been mostly light stuff – thrillers, detective stories, mysteries.  My brain is not functioning as well as before (it did function!).

Today I could not even get out of bed for my B12 injection.  I wish they had nurses who come home to give injections, as they do in most other civilized countries (and they don’t charge a fortune for it)!

I try to read a few books by one author at a time to get a better feeling for the characters s/he creates.  Now, while I am waiting for Daniel Silva’s latest, The Rembrandt Affair, coming out in July, I have reread all the previous ones he wrote.  I did the same for Donna Leon’s books, which I love, while waiting for A Question of Belief. There’s nothing like Guido Brunetti in Venice! The latest by Martha Grimes, The Black Cat: A Richard Jury Mystery, which I had also been waiting for, proved to be extremely disappointing.  Not so the latest by Alexander McCall Smith,  The Double Comfort Safari Club: The New No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, which was quite good, like the previous ones.

Then, of course, there was Stieg Larsson’s trilogy, which I really enjoyed.  They will make a movie here in two years because the ones that are coming from his native Sweden are in Swedish (horror!), and most people here do not like reading subtitles. I found that out with my own students!  They will ruin the books, I am sure, as they have done with so many others…

I have been discussing all this with my Facebook “friends.” I put the word in quotes because I have never met these people before.  We exchange ideas about books.  The problem is that they have come up with so many that I’ll never finish reading … and buying them!

Yesterday I finished Harlan Coben’s Long Lost.  I think he has gone too far with the plots. This one is somewhat too far fetched.  But –  he has some good points.  Remember that Tell No One was made into a film … by the French! And it was quite good.  Another redeeming quality is his sense of humor.  I could not help but copy the following because it’s a good example of that, and also because it applies to me – partially, mind you!!!
*****************************

Myron Bolitar, the protagonist of  Long Lost,  calls his mother.

“Mom, it’s me.”
“Hello, darling.” Mom sounded tired “I’m just back from the doctor.”
“Are you okay?”
“You can read about it on my blog tonight,” Mom said.
“Hold up. You just got back from the doctor, right?”
Mom sighed. “I just said that, didn’t I?”
“Right, so I’m asking about your health.”
“That’s going to be my blog topic. If you want to know more, read it.”
“You won’t tell me?”
“Don’t take it personally, sweetie.  This way I don’t have to repeat myself when someone asks.”
“So you blog about it instead?”
“It increases traffic to my site.  See, now you’re interested, am I right? So I’ll get more hits.”
My mother, ladies and gentlemen.
“I didn’t even know you had a blog.”
“Oh, sure, I’m very now, very today, very hip. I’m on MyFace too.”
I heard my father in the background shout out, “It’s MySpace, Ellen.”
“What?”
“It’s called MySpace.”
“I thought it was MyFace.”
“That’s Facebook. You have one of those too. And MySpace.”
“Are you sure?”
“Yes, I’m sure.”
“Listen to Mr. Billy Gates back there.  Knows everything about the Internet all of a sudden.”
“And your mother is fine,” Dad yelled out.
“Don’t tell him,” she whined. “Now he won’t click my blog.”

It was so pertinent that I laughed out loud when I read it!  I wonder if it applies to others too…

P.S. I find it puzzling that some people who “hit me” reply to my comments through e-mail rather than here, even when it is not anything private. Please do it here so I get more “traffic” 😉

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Of Books and Blogs- Updated

  1. Rafael says:

    Ahh Martha, you and your new discovery! You blog, therefore you are! 😉

  2. martisima says:

    Of course! And partly thanks to you…

  3. LOL, love that excerpt!

  4. Esther says:

    Thanks for your “Books-post,” Martha. I was especially interested in your observations about Stieg Larsson’s trilogy, since I just finished the first volume. As you already know, it is very absorbing. I didn’t think the Bjurman sub-plot contributed much to our understanding of Salander’s character (it seemed to me like overkill), but perhaps its importance will become more apparent in the second novel.

    • martisima says:

      I don’t want to say too much about it, Esther, but you’ have already said it yourself. The Bjurman sub-plot’s importance will indeed become more apparent in the other novels. I really liked them, and I think the end is quite good. Let’s discuss them again after you have read the third one!

  5. Elli Dumont says:

    Finally found the blog and how to respond!! I am so very 20th century.

Leave a Reply

