“Glenn Beck’s Blues: Why the Far Right Hates Soccer”

This is the beginning of the article “Glenn Beck’s Blues: Why the Far Right Hates Soccer”:

“Every World Cup, it arrives like clockwork. As sure as the ultimate soccer spectacle brings guaranteed adrenaline and agony to fans across the United States, it also drives the right-wing noise machine utterly insane.

‘It doesn’t matter how you try to sell it to us,’ yipped the Prom King of new right, Glenn Beck. ‘It doesn’t matter how many celebrities you get, it doesn’t matter how many bars open early, it doesn’t matter how many beer commercials they run, we don’t want the World Cup, we don’t like the World Cup, we don’t like soccer, we want nothing to do with it.’

Beck’s wingnut godfather, G. Gordon Liddy also said on his radio program, ‘Whatever happened to American exceptionalism? This game … originated with the South American Indians and instead of a ball, they used to use the head, the decapitated head, of an enemy warrior.’ “

I have a theory.  What they have said is too unconscionable to take it seriously. They are either out of their minds or teasing us. I vote for the second option.  What I see here is some fanatics smirking, thinking that they can get away with anything, and why not, then, say anything that comes to their mind, no matter how outrageous?  They are just trying to make us angry, but if we take what they say as a game, then they are the ones on the losing side.

We shall overcome, in spite of the Glenn Becks and G. Gordon Liddies out there !

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

