Remembrance of Things Past Triggered by the World Cup … Not by Madeleines

At some point in our lives, we start measuring events not by the clock or the calendar, but by similar events in our past.  They trigger our memory.

I was remembering when we were in Sardinia (Sardegna, in Italian; Cerdeña, in Spanish), and every night after dinner we would watch the World Cup.   This means it was four years ago.  And I remember applauding the Argentine team when they won, and everybody looking at me in a strange way.  Of course, they were all either Italian or German.

This “remembrance of things past” is not hollow.  It is quite poignant.  We were supposed to stay there two more weeks, and then go visit friends in Florence and Lake Garda.  But – we had to cut our stay short and come back home fast.  It was the beginning of four years of seeing doctors and doing all kinds of “interventions” (yes, shamans too, and maybe some divine ones) so that someone could figure out what was ailing Guido.

We never found out.  To this day, with another World Cup at our doorstep, we are in the dark.  Guido is stable now, at least.  Gone are the days when I had to call an ambulance and take him to the hospital.  For nothing.

I still dream of continuing that interrupted vacation in Italy.  Now, I have to get well so that we can do it.  And, of course, Guido has to be better.  Fast.  We cannot wait until the next World Cup to do it…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembrance of Things Past Triggered by the World Cup … Not by Madeleines

  1. Andrés says:

    Querida Martha, llegado de BsAs, como sabés hace ya 10 días, no logro reponerme de algo que me traje y que Geraldine ayudó a reforzar con lo que ella misma se trajo de San Francisco… O sea que apenas tengo fuerzas parte del día, y, gracias al Mundial, encontré la excusa perfecta para no castigarme con la inacción total. Contesto por primera vez tu blog y lo la linda cosa que recordás. Y te digo que cuatro años, parafraseando el tango damoso, no es nada, tené confianza. Guido se estabilizó, al menos, y vos lo mismo dentro de un tiempo, y ambos volverán a Italia para reiniciar esa vacación interrumpida. Te lo prometo! Y mientras tanto, vamos Argentina! Besos, Andrés.

  2. martisima says:

    Gracias, queridísimo Andrés!!! Vos sí que sos un buen amigo… Te voy a contestar por e-mail.

Leave a Reply

