Another Week, Another Doctor, Another Cruise

Yes, I had to see the endocrinologist again.  I had started taking the natural thyroid at a higher dose, so we had to see what was going on.  It’s still too soon to tell, and now I have to wait until the end of the fourth week to get more blood tests. But he gave me more supplements for the nervous system.  And so it goes..

Dr. Hedaya is a holistic doctor, and he spends a long time with patients.  Yes, he charges a lot and does not participate in Medicare nor in any other insurance, but if he is good, isn’t it worth the money spent?  Should I repeat the old cliche “You can’t take it with you”?  Well, you can’t, some will say, but … you can leave it to your daughters!  They are getting enough, thank you! 😉

I have to repeat the adrenal test because the past one showed very elevated results, and this is an important factor in all thyroid diseases.  I knew about this, after having read so much about the thyroid.  Dr. Pennington had done a blood test for Cortisol which showed the adrenalin was fine, but it says everywhere that the only satisfactory test is the saliva one.  That’s what Dr. Hedaya has ordered.

I have learned to be patient. There is nothing else we can do.  Still, it is not easy.  Today I got up at 2:00pm.  I feel weak and tired.  Guido is helping a lot, but he is still not well himself, so I don’t want him to do too much.  The main problem is grocery shopping.  This is something nobody else can do for me on a large scale.  Even when it is just a few things I need it is not easy for others to find them, so why bother and get upset, to boot?

I guess I should be thankful that they caught my thyroid papillary carcinoma and my two sick parathyroid glands when I had already retired.  If not, I would have had to stop teaching, and that would have made me feel really sick. Many of my former students are still in touch with me, and it really makes me feel so much better to hear from them!

Once more, I want to sing the praises of the Internet, e-mail, Facebook, blogs. They are my main connection to the outside world.  For the very first time, I was able to give the Football World Cup the attention it deserves!!!  And all the books that have been patiently waiting for me to make them come back to life are alive and happy now.

I know that I will get better and also well eventually.  In the meantime, Dr. Goodman, our osteopath of many, many years (and also friend), is helping enormously.  He has already gone with Guido to visit our boat, Water Music, in the Bay, and on Saturday they will go out on a maiden cruise.  What a relief for me, since I cannot go with Guido!  I will never be grateful enough to our wonderful osteopath and friend!  He is the only one who has offered to accompany Guido …  but one is enough, especially when it is this one!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Week, Another Doctor, Another Cruise

  1. It’s good that you have some money to spend on yourself now. I hope Dr Hedaya can help you! And I’m glad to hear they’re going on the boat on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

