Boat and Weekend

Water Music has had its maiden voyage, but since I was not there, they did not break a bottle of champagne before sailing off into the sunset…

Dr. Goodman had asked Guido if he could bring a friend along, something that proved to be perfect.  He is a young man, a music student, and crazy about boats. This means that he is most eager to go with Guido any time, and eventually, when I can go, he can also come and help.  I still “owe” a cruise to many others, who expressed their eagerness to go with us (you are still first in line, Ludy, Ramón, and Walter!)

I also got an idea for the future.  Since I could not prepare sandwiches or anything else for the cruise, they went to Balducci’s and bought all the necessary provisions there – even water.  Guido had taken napkins and dry ice.  Since they liked what they got a lot, I told Guido that next time we all go, I will not prepare sandwiches or cook anything the day before, or when I am in the boat.  We can buy everything at Balducci’s, or even eat there at a restaurant close to the marina, as Guido and Dr. Goodman did last time. I need a respite too!

In a way I am glad tomorrow is Monday – the official beginning of summer.  I am not glad because of this; rather, because weekends are really bad for me.  There are few calls, and I don’t feel like going to the grocery stores then. I had to because I needed lots of stuff, but I could not face it.  Guido wanted to go on his own, but I can’t make a list.  There is a lot I need that I have to see first… And I was feeling quite down.

This has become too personal, and I don’t know if I am doing the right thing posting it here, but since I am writing very few updates to close friends, this will do for many others too.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boat and Weekend

  1. I think part of the idea of a blog is that you can post whatever you want, personal or not! Why not? Hope you feel better soon!

  2. martisima says:

    Thanks! I do not want this to be too personal. A little is fine!

Leave a Reply

