Another Month, Another Test, and More…

For the second time this week I had to have blood drawn for tests. Today the nurse didn’t have much trouble finding my vein, fortunately, unlike what happened on Tuesday.  She was so happy she screamed!  I had drunk lots of water for the past few days.  Let’s just hope that the results indicate what we already know – that my thyroid dosage needs to be increased!

I have not been well at all these days, and could hardly get up.  Today we had to change my appointment from 1:00 to 3:30PM.  Fortunately, Ramon had brought another whole dinner, so when we got back I could rest again.  I am surrounded by guardian angels.

But – it happens again.  It is another holiday on Monday (well, the real holiday is on Sunday 4, but people need to have an extra day off).  This means a “lost” day, which, in the context of the time since my surgery, is not that bad.  I have already reached the eleventh month of waiting!

Next, I will be waiting for our daughters, Rosana and Julia Valeria, who will be coming in the next few months.  Rosana will be here for my 76th birthday in September.  I can’t believe it, as I have been reading so many books that say a character is “old” when s/he reaches 70.  Not true, I say!!!  I do not feel old at all, in spite of my current crabby and weak state.  It will pass soon! I need to be optimistic.

People need to understand that this is the first time in all my life that I have had surgery and been in bed for so long. I can’t even remember being in bed for one whole day! It’s good, but at the same time it is very frustrating.  At times, I can’t believe it is happening, and I immerse myself in a book or a film and try to forget reality.

Back to bed now. Hope to write some more soon!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Month, Another Test, and More…

  1. Rosana Francescato says:

    How much can they increase the dosage each time?

  2. martisima says:

    They can only go up one grain, the equivalent of 30mg. I am taking 90mg now, so it should go up to 120. That’s all they can increase. According to Dr. Goodman, I’ll feel better when I reach 150 … and more!

  3. martisima says:

    I probably will, especially since it is also my birthday, and you’ll be here!!!

Leave a Reply

