Sunday, again…

Sunday, again…  And tomorrow, even though it is Monday, it is a holiday.  For us, that means an extra day waiting for test results.  As I said before, in the big scheme of things, one day should not make a big difference.  But it does.  I am feeling rotten.  Every day it is the same – I cannot get up. I have no energy to take a shower and get dressed until around 3:00 in the afternoon.  I can barely have some breakfast around 10:30 or 11:00 in the morning. I make it until I go to bed by pushing myself as hard as I can.

I am writing this, even though I am very tired, because I also need it for my records.  Guido has been doing the shopping these past few days. It makes me feel even worse because these days Guido’s health has also taken a turn for the worse. I got a whole dinner yesterday from another guardian angel, Ludy.  Some friends are really helping me, and they don’t know how much I appreciate it.

In addition to my problems caused by the thyroid, I still have a “knot” in my throat, and it bothers me.  The surgeon told me it is the scar tissue, and it will eventually dissolve, but he reminded me that I had not only my thyroid removed, but also one parathyroid gland.  Then, he realized there must be another one somewhere, and he found it hiding behind the esophagus!  Naturally, it made more scars than a simple surgery.  It also took longer than expected, and will take even longer to go away.

I want to “officially” thank Facebook for all the friends I have found there.  It was not only my daughters, and many former students and others I knew, but numerous new ones whom I had never met and became friends with, as well as many others whose track I had lost, some of them for almost 25 years!!!  It was incredibly rewarding to find them again there!  And our daughters’ friends from Urbana (Illinois), from elementary and high school too are there.  Some of them even remembered dishes they used to eat at our home…  Unbelievable – and touching!! What a wonderful way to spend a few hours a day, especially for me, as I cannot go anywhere nor meet anyone!

I have to remember that I am lucky, as I had never before been in bed for one single day. And I am repeating myself, but I notice that very few “friends” have responded, which means they have not read my posts.  Oh, well, what can I do?  As I have said before, I have already reached the eleventh month of waiting!

Still, I want to be optimistic, if at all possible, and picture us in lake Garda with our friends soon! I can already see it!!!!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday, again…

  1. Rosana Francescato says:

    People often read posts and don’t make comments. It’s not obligatory to make a comment to every post! It doesn’t mean people aren’t reading them. It’s the same on Facebook. That’s just the way it is. I’m sorry to hear you’re both feeling so bad. I hope tomorrow is better!

  2. martisima says:

    I know they don’t have to comment on every post, but when they ask me questions that have been answered here, it makes me feel frustrated. Why do I have to answer individual questions on everything? That’s why I have my blog! Very few so far have commented. Only you!

Leave a Reply

