Blood Test Results?

A very frustrating day, so far. My blood test results are back, but Dr. Hedaya insists one is missing, and without it he cannot tell me anything.  After many calls, nobody knows what happened. If they don’t find it, I’ll have to get it again.  t is already Thursday. This means another week of not knowing and waiting. Why do things have to be so complicated? I need results NOW.  I told Dr. Hedaya that I cannot continue feeling like this. We’ll see…

Later…

Now we know. Dr. Penningon’s office did not send this particular test to the lab.  His nurse insisted that Dr. Hedaya had not ordered it. Fortunately, I had made copies of Dr. Hedaya’s request, and it was there both times, Now I have to go back to have it. The worst part is that it has to be done twice — one 6 hours after taking the thyroid med, and once 24 hours after. This means THREE days to allow for the tests.  Then, again to wait for the results.  It is totally unacceptable, and the first time it happens.  Human error? Yes, and how.  It affects me a lot, and I can’t stop crying.  When will this end?  And now it is too late to ask for an appointment for tomorrow.

Guido has volunteered to call Dr. Pennington and tell him how their error is affecting us.  Good!  That is, if he does it…

Latest…

We decided not to tell anything to Dr. Pennington.  It was probably his nurse who made the mistake, and we don’t want to get her in trouble.  She is quite new, and very pleasant and competent otherwise.  We’ll just have to insist that they take me tomorrow for the blood test. And we hope it is only one, the test after six hours of having taken the thyroid medication.

Dr. Hedaya has not called yet, and I doubt he’ll call today.  It is too late, and there are no new developments…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blood Test Results?

  1. So sorry to hear that, what a drag! I hope the time passes quickly and they can increase your dosage soon. Will call again on the weekend. xxxooo

  2. martisima says:

    Gracias, querida hijita (no exclamation sign) 😉

Leave a Reply

