Doctor, Thyroid, Blood Tests…

The long awaited day had come, and we went to my appointment with Dr. Hedaya today.  Alas, for almost nothing, really.  He is right. The test that was missing was done later separately.  That should not have happened.  As a consequence, I need to repeat all the tests – the ones 6 hours after taking the thyroid medication, and then the ones 24 hours after.

It was not all lost.  He gave me some supplements to help me sleep better – melatonin (for which he had made me have a test, as it is a hormone)and Phosphatidylserine (for the adrenal function).  He will be away for only one week, so it’s not as if I have wasted my life.  But it really irritates me that all the tests that were done are not good, and I have to repeat them, especially with my rolling veins. He has urged me to go directly to the lab because Dr. Pennington does some tests there in his office and sends some out to the lab. Dr. Hedaya wants to have them all together and done at the same time. (He still charged me the regular $435.00 fee… but I feel he deserves it, as I am not spending any extra money in anything these days. I left his office feeling better.)

He was very pleasant today. He is also a psychiatrist, so he tried to cheer me up. He asked me if I felt hopeless.  I told him that I started feeling very hopeful since the other day when Guido told me that as soon as I get well we’d go to Italy.  So, he turned to Guido and asked him to tell me that every day.

It is indeed a strange situation, almost like a twilight zone for me. I am not the same.  My life is pre and post thyroid surgery. There has been a huge change since almost a year ago when I had surgery.  As I said before, it may also be because this is the first time in 75 years that I have had surgery.

Dr.  Hedaya also told us that both he and his wife are on thyroid medication.  It seems to have reached epidemic proportions. Now, a new study is pointing to dental X-rays as possible causes of thyroid cancer.  So, be careful, and insist that when they take dental X-rays they protect your neck too . Dr. Hedaya also blames the environment, plastics, what we eat, the water we drink – almost everything!  He is right.  We are slowly being poisoned.

Another event that makes me look to the near future with anticipation is the visit of Rosana and Valerie in September – separately, so we can enjoy them to the fullest!

This will be all for now, as I need to rest.  Once more, my guardian angels have been taking excellent care of me through their calls, messages, and all the food they bring! I am very grateful.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

