Other Matters, Too!

I try to discuss many issues besides my health problems so as not to dwell on them all the time.  It’s bad enough to have to go through them, but it’s worse thinking about them exclusively.  In my previous blog I discussed many other matters, including a book I had just read. So, what happens?  Many told me that they detected an improvement precisely because of this.  It’s not that I don’t want people to think that I have improved, it’s just that it has not happened – yet. When it does, I promise to let you know.  It is worse this way, as I have to explain why I am writing about other matters.  I should not have to!  It is what a blog is for – to write about whatever comes to your mind at any given moment…  And that’s what I am doing, regardless of how I feel.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Other Matters, Too!

  1. Anna Amato says:

    As someone who has had 8 surgeries and been ‘laid up’ by each one – but not to your extent – I appreciate your remarks. If you lie there every day and dwell on your illness people start to think you’re whining and the minute you want to change the subject so to speak and discuss something else, they think you’re well. They don’t ‘get it’ at all and it’s very annoying.
    I loved The Rembrandt Affair; I believe he is a craftsman. I think he referenced Argentina because of Eichmann and Ari but we all know the history of the world regarding the Nazis. When I visited the Vatican Exhibit in Florida I deliberately went to the hall of pictures of past Popes to see how they treated Pius XII. A small plaque, no picture, and a very brief passage about him. If they could have eliminated him altogtether I believe they would have. If he could have been eliminated forever it would have been a blessing for Jews all over the world.

    • martisima says:

      I think I have already replied to this one, Anna, but I can’t find it here. Maybe it was through email… So I’ll try to reply now. First of all, thanks so much for understanding my position!

      As far as The Rembrandt Affair, it is true that so many were guilty of such crimes and people don’t know. But this was also explained at length in previous books by Silva, as well as the Vatican’s position regarding Jews. What I missed here was the art restoration, I guess. And I was joking about sending the Nazis to other countries too, not only to Argentina, since it was not the only country that gave them shelter.

  2. I’m glad you are writing, about whatever! Like you said, that’s the purpose of this blog. It’s unfortunate that people don’t understand, but of course they are just hoping you feel better because they care about you. I’m glad you can think and write about other things, too–not just so people won’t think you’re whining, but for your own well-being.

    • martisima says:

      Thanks, querida hijita. I don’t want people to start thinking I am getting better because then they will not understand why I don’t go shopping or have coffee with them, things I still cannot do. What’s wrong with writing about other matters? It is not an indication of my health status, but a natural desire to pay attention to what is going on around us, and inside me 😉

Leave a Reply

