Latest Blood Tests Results for Thyroid — Not Good…

What can I say?   It has been a bad day, and I wish I could say something different or discuss another matter, but it is not possible.

Dr. Hedaya had the results of my tests. I called him dutifully at 2:00pm, the time when he takes calls. I was on the phone with him for about half an hour.  He told me that my TSH is rocket high all of a sudden in both tests (one six hours after having taken the thyroid medication, the other one 24 hours after).  He indicated that this could mean that my body is not absorbing the medication.  I questioned the fact that two weeks ago the same TSH was down to 0.02, an ideal reading, and now all of a sudden in only one week it went up to unacceptable levels.  The reference levels posted by the lab are 0.450 – 4.500, and I have 10.670 and 21.450! And even the posted levels are not correct, according to the latest studies.  The maximum should be 2.00

He asked me to take my pulse. Guido could not find it (I could even joke about it at the time), so Dr. Hedaya told me to use the blood pressure monitor. I did, and we forgot about the pulse when we saw the blood pressure reading at 190/90.  We took it again and it was 170/ 78.  He told me to continue monitoring it.  I did. It is normal again. Obviously, I was getting very nervous at the time.

What we need to do now is … more tests, yes, to determine the cause of the TSH results.  Tomorrow I have to go to his office for a blood test which he wants me to have done there, and they will give me two more tests to do at home to check for possible intestinal dysfunction or food allergies.

I wish I could be more upbeat about this, but at this point I simply cannot.  Maybe I am too close to what happened and still trying to digest it.  Guido at first thought it could be a lab error, but when he saw the results they emailed me he accepted them. Whatever.  I was hoping that this time things would be different.  On Friday it will have been a year since I had surgery. Time to have all this behind.  Instead, I am facing a new stage.  My TSH has never ever been so high.  The highest it has been was 4.01.  And yet … Some sites advise not to be guided by TSH levels and to disregard them completely.  Dr. Hedaya himself agreed about it last time we discussed it, but still he insists on paying attention to the results. They also advise to pay more attention to free T3, free T4, and reverse T3 – all of which are not normal either in the tests they did. The only thing that is normal is the iron level.  Very confusing.  What is happening?  Let’s hope I get some answers soon. Please don’t ask me about it.  I will write something about it as soon as I know, as I am doing now about today’s developments.

Guido got to see the doctor, and his ear is doing quite well now.  At least, one of us is well.  He went to Balducci’s and got dinner for us so we would not have to cook.  I am still in shock…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Latest Blood Tests Results for Thyroid — Not Good…

  1. Rosana Francescato says:

    Sorry to hear that. It is indeed very confusing. I wonder why Hedaya agreed it’s not important to look at the test results yet wants to go by them. I hope you get some clarity and help soon!!

  2. martisima says:

    I don’t understand it either. I’ll have to ask about the blood test tomorrow because I don’t know what it is for. Maybe he doesn’t understand either why my TSH is so high all of a sudden. He did tell me to take double the amount of thyroid med for a few days and to call him on Thursday. More waiting…and wondering what to do!

  3. I hope the double amount helps!!

  4. martisima says:

    But is says everywhere that the dosage has to be increased in small amounts, never double. As Father says, I must rely on what Dr. Hedaya tells me to do. He is a good endocrinologist and also a holistic doctor.

  5. Anna Amato says:

    I just saw your post – it has been a low energy day here too – but your news is so confusing – how could this have happened – those numbers are high but as Guido says you must rely on Dr. Hedaya especially if he is an holistic doctor as well – I am so sorry – I will check my posts more regularly – I feel like Rosana in that I hope you get some clarity SOON!

  6. martisima says:

    Thanks! Today I had to go to Dr. Hedaya’s office to have my blood drawn, but I could not get out of bed. It is only now, at 3:35pm, that I ventured out, showered briefly, and got dressed. What a life! I am beginning to feel even more frustrated than ever. Guido tries hard to help and comfort me, but it is not easy. I do appreciate your concern and your support, Rosana and Anna!

  7. John Brett Parrish says:

    I read your blog posting twice and was just as confused the second time as I was the first time. And then I realized that much of your frustration, Martita, is that the issue is like a drop of mercury in the palm of your hand. You hit the drop with your forefinger and it divides and subdivides into many small drops, each an independent issue to be analyzed, poked, thought about, acted upon. Not just one problem… I feel for you.

    • martisima says:

      You are very special, my dear John Brett, and you analyzed my problems very well. Thanks so very much!!! We all hope to see the light some time — and I don’t say soon because it will not be. Tests take time, and we must learn to be patient…

Leave a Reply

