More Tests and More Waiting and More Uncertainty…

Briefly, as I got very tired – today I managed to go and get my blood drawn, and later speak to Dr. Hedaya on the phone.  Dr. Pennington also called me.  I had taken him a copy of  the results of the tests when we went later in the afternoon for our weekly B12 injection, and he called to tell me he could not believe what they showed.  They all ask the same question: Have I changed anything this past week?  Have I added any new medication?  Forgotten to take the current thyroid one?  The answers to all are no – nothing, absolutely nothing at all is different. Nothing can account for the inordinate increase in TSH.  Guido’s first thought was that the lab had made a mistake.  Dr. Pennington also voiced this possibility.  However, the two tests were done separately, two days in between, in the same lab.  Guido still thinks it could be the result of an incompetent lab technician who happened to analyze both batches. We may never know, as it will be hard to tell.

In the meantime, I have to go through more tests to determine if there are parasites, food allergies, Celiac disease, etc.  We are almost sure that there will be nothing new.  How can there be such a dramatic change in one week?  Impossible!  For now, we have to wait, and I am $1,970.00 poorer for the three tests, which I would not mind too much if they were absolutely necessary.  Maybe they are.  Better safe than sorry, no?  We never worried too much about money when it is well spent. (This applies to food too, as many of you know.)

Dr. Hedaya also increased my desiccated thyroid medication dosage to 60mg twice daily.  This may help, even though the TSH is not showing it. We may want to forget the results and pay attention to the symptoms, as many recommend. We managed to get to the Apothecary to pick up the medication, so we are set for the weekend.

So – we shall all wait for the results.  I promise to let you know as soon as I have them.  If you ask before then, there will be no answer, naturally.

And now, to wait for another treat –  my weekly dinner deliveries from our guardian angels, who have asked me not to mention them.  It makes them blush…  (HINT:  their initials are T and D; R; L and A — you can guess.  They deserve some credit, don’t they?).  It means a lot to us!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Tests and More Waiting and More Uncertainty…

  1. Anna Amato says:

    They absolutely deserve credit – they are angels!

  2. martisima says:

    They are indeed, and even more, if possible! They bring us a whole meal, including bread and wine. Can you believe it? I am indeed lucky. It’s a shame they are always the same and have the burden all to themselves, when there are others, too, who could share it…

Leave a Reply

