To Blog or Not to Blog…

To blog or not to blog.  That is the problem.  If I don’t write something all the time, people begin to ask me why.  Some are philosophical, saying “no news is good news”.  But how can I tell them they are wrong?  No news could mean that I am too tired to repeat what is happening, which is always the same.

Dr. Hedaya has been very forthcoming.  When I told him that I had read that the natural thyroid’s binding with cellulose in the compound was making some people sick, he asked me for the article. It was not researched, just something I get through Facebook.  He said he didn’t think it was causing me problems, but still he agreed d to have it redone with vitamin C. The pharmacist from the Village Green (the Apothecary), the  pharmacy that does the compound, told me that it will be ready on Monday.  It may not be the cause of my discomfort, but, as long as we are dealing with cliches, it is better to be safe than sorry.

Dr. Hedaya said that he did not think that is the issue since everyone uses this binder and does well, but, he agreed that “if we can eliminate this one factor, I am all for it.”  He also added that “it is early for the thyroid to kick in, as your TSH was 20 or so and 10 (same day) as you recall. So steady state isn’t reached for 10 days for T3 and a month for the T4.”  But what impressed me the most is what he said at the end “Finally,  I welcome any ideas you have at any time. My goal is to get you better, not to be right. So please don’t ever worry about offending me by coming up with ideas.”  How many doctors have said this?

So far, so good.  Let’s hope he is on the right track.  As you can also see, I need to be patient. I wonder  how many times I have said this since the beginning.  Anybody counting?

Valerie tells me I read too much, which is true, but I get many ideas, and also I find comfort in the stories of others who are having a worse time than I am and for longer.  It helps!  That’s why I always thank the Internet and Facebook. The latter has also connected me with many friends from the past that I am constantly finding, and this has helped a lot. As I have often said, it is my window to the world, now that I am constrained to the house.

And it is time now to go and start the pizza rather than continue to ruminate here!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

