August Already, and Still Doing Tests…

It is already Thursday.  This week seems to have gone by extremely fast.  I was somewhat irritated because I had to have three more tests – two at home for parasites and bacteria, and blood work for everything else.

The first two I had to do at home, and they involved lots of preparation and fasting, and eating only certain foods the days ahead.  Monday and Tuesday were “devoted” to them, and on Wednesday Guido took them to FedEx for shipping.  Today I went for my blood tests and the B12 weekly injection.

I cannot complain, even though fasting does not agree with me.  We were more than lucky!  First, the air conditioner stopped working yesterday at around 4:45pm.  Guido called and, because we have a contract with this firm, they came in less than one hour.  It could be fixed, but they warned us it is dying.  No wonder – it is 15 years old, and they normally last for around 10 or 12 years. But it can hold on until the end of the Summer. Now is not a good time to change it.

Today we woke up to a huge storm, with lots of rain, wind, thunder and lightning.  As I watched out of the window, I saw that there was a huge tree lying down (not to sleep, but dead) in our back yard, and part of it was in the pool.  It was by chance that we had not had the rolling cover replaced when it broke recently, because it would have been dragged to death by the tree.  Once again, we were fortunate and Osmin, our loyal gardener, came right away. He and his team had to work for several hours to cut the huge branches so that they could be carried to their truck.  When they finally removed the branches, we could see that part of our fence had been damaged.  Osmin managed to fix it!

Next, we went to the doctor’s office, and nurse Victoria managed to find my vein at the first try, and it went perfectly, which was good because she had to get seven vials of blood for the tests (they are for my yearly physical).

So, all in all, I should not complain too much.  Everything is already back to normal, and I could have breakfast at 3:30pm.  I had to go there at 2:30 because I still cannot get up in the morning, and I had to fast.  Everything is behind us now, and we hope this is it for this week, at least. We were also lucky that we didn’t lose power, as many did.

I will not have to cook tonight because guardian angel R came and brought dinner for us.  As usual, besides the main dishes there was bread and also fruit salad for dessert!

In retrospect, our blessings are greater than our afflictions.  I now need to make sure that I don’t get even more upset by the lack of sensibility some people display. I don’t know what else to call it.  Maybe I am still a romantic at heart, together with many of my true friends.  I am fortunate to have them, and they know how to comfort me. I will therefore stick to them and ignore the guilty ones. Indifference is the best course of action in some cases, and I do need to stay calm and composed.  It is enough to try to deal with all this fatigue and irritability and despondency and everything else (or maybe I should say “and all that”, to imitate one of my favorite literary heroes, Lord Peter Wimsey.)

So, now I can go back to rest with a good book, and forget all the negative aspects of life, which upset me even if I try to dismiss them. It is not worth it!  To sweeten my life even more, Valerie sent me (yes, by next day mail) three alfajores de maicena, which she is trying to get correctly.  Baking is not her real passion, but she wants to try and make these. I had put out an e-mail call for recipes to my Argentine friends, and I have already received many replies!  She has one of her cooking classes on the 1st of September, and she is planning a “South American” menu. You can see it all in her blog: http://valeriesfoodramblings.blogspot.com/

And here is a good account of today’s storm, if you are interested:  http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/08/12/AR2010081204112.html

Ciao!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August Already, and Still Doing Tests…

  1. Anna Amato says:

    I like the new picture but I liked the old one also. You did have an incredible week, didn’t you? You were lucky with the pool cover and even the air conditioner – we’re so close to not needing them for a while,,,,I hope.

    I have so much to do to get ready for the eye surgery with classes and tests every Wednesday up to and immediately after and with living alone and getting the ‘help’ in place and one more fasting blood test. I know how that feels,,,especially for a night person. Seven vials of blood – whew! good for Victoria – it’s rare when they get the right vein on the first try. Off to pharmacies now and bill paying – I’m ready to switch to e-mail bill paying! Hope you and Guido have a better week and thank the heavens for the ‘angels’

Leave a Reply

