I Like Being Old!

I will not take credit for these thoughts, but they reflect so well how I feel that I could have written them. A good friend sent them to me, and now I am posting them here.  I am so tired and depressed today that I need to tell everybody who cares how I really feel, in spite of my health.  This will eventually get better. But I will not tolerate those who criticize me for having these thoughts because they do not share them. I feel sorry for them. I shall be happier, for sure!

*********************

I would never trade some of my friends, my wonderful life, my loving family for less gray hair or a flatter belly.  As I’ve aged, I’ve become kinder to myself, and less critical of myself.  I’ve become my own friend.  I don’t chide myself for eating that extra cookie, or for not making my bed, or for buying that silly cement gecko that I didn’t need, but looks so avant garde on my patio. I am entitled to a treat, to be messy, to be extravagant.

I have seen too many dear friends leave this world too soon; before they understood the great freedom that comes with aging.

Whose business is it if I choose to read or play on the computer until 4 AM and sleep until noon? I will dance with myself to those wonderful tunes of the 60s and 70s, and if I, at the same time, wish to weep over a lost love … I will.

I will walk the beach in a swim suit that is stretched over a bulging body, and will dive into the waves with abandon if I choose to, despite the pitying glances from the jet set.

They, too, will get old.

I know I am sometimes forgetful.  But there again, some of life is just as well forgotten. And I eventually remember the important things.

Sure, over the years my heart has been broken.  How can your heart not break when you lose a loved one, or when a child suffers, or even when somebody’s beloved pet gets hit by a car?  But broken hearts are what give us strength and understanding and compassion.  A heart never broken is pristine and sterile and will never know the joy of being imperfect

I am so blessed to have lived long enough to have my hair turning gray, and to have my youthful laughs be forever etched into deep grooves on my face.

So many have never laughed, and so many have died before their hair could turn silver.

As you get older, it is easier to be positive. You care less about what other people think. I don’t question myself anymore..

I’ve even earned the right to be wrong (yes!)

So, to answer your question, I like being old. It has set me free. I like the person I have become. I am not going to live forever, but while I am still here, I will not waste time lamenting what could have been, or worrying about what will be. And I shall eat dessert (and chocolate) every single day if I feel like it.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Like Being Old!

  1. Thank God for women like you. I have a few wrinkles around my eyes, and they just let people know that I laugh a lot. It’s sad to see so many dread old age, when (if they had patience) could learn so much about life. I get most of my marriage advise from female artists in their 60s. I’m glad that you share your knowledge with us youngings.

  2. martisima says:

    And thank God for women like you too! So you are a younging? In spite of feeling lousy because of my thyroid problems, I don’t feel old. I’ll be 76 years young in a few days. I always remember you, my dear Waverly!

Leave a Reply

