Still in Limbo – One Year and One Month After Thyroid and Parathyroid Surgery

It is already the 26 of August, and I am still in limbo, one year and one month after thyroid and parathyroid surgery.

Instead of getting better I have been getting progressively worse, so much so that today Guido had to cancel my yearly physical which was scheduled for 2:00pm. I cannot get up and shower and get dressed until around 5:00pm, and I am tired and irritable and nervous and angry and… and yes, I feel bad and guilty because Guido has been doing all the shopping these days, and he is not well himself and also not accustomed to do it.  I can give him lists, but very often I go to the grocery store without a list. I write “fruit” and I know what I mean. It is not easy.

To make matters worse, I had blood work for the physical, and it showed my TSH levels (thyroid-stimulating hormone) somewhat lower than before, which could be good.  But then the ones I had at LabCorp showed the same TSH at 10 an 20 points higher!  How to decide which one is correct (even though many say numbers do not matter, and that we are being bound by the directives of TSH-obsessed doctors)?  There were two different labs involved – one showed lower levels and the other one showed much higher ones.  When I asked Dr. Hedaya’s nurse, she told me that the results will vary within days. I agree it may be that, but – so much?

I think I have found the solution.  I put this to her:  what if I go to your office to have blood drawn and you send the same blood to two different labs?  She thought it was a good idea, and this is what I did on Tuesday.  When I go to see Dr. H on Monday we may have the results and an answer to this mystery. I had to pay for something that I could have done for free, but this was the easiest and more secure path.  What is money to us if we cannot spend it on pleasures?  We might as well get the best possible health care — if that exists…

I may also seem obsessed with this, and I am — but it is only natural. It has been one year and one month after surgery and I am worse now than before.  I appreciate friends more than ever now, and I can openly declare that the whole meals we very often get for dinner are a true lifesaver. Today’s delivery was greatly treasured, after having gone through a rather nasty day, also due to some mortifying and senseless happenings.  Thank you, my guardian angels. You help me restore my faith in humanity and in true friendship!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still in Limbo – One Year and One Month After Thyroid and Parathyroid Surgery

  1. Anna Amato says:

    Never apologize for being obsessed or concerned with your own health – who has a better right? I like the idea of the blood being sent to two labs – a great way to get an answer to that ongoing problem. I can see now so I wanted to check on you – I’m glad the angels are there!

  2. martisima says:

    True, dear Anna, but some tell me I should not be so obsessed and to think of something else. How can I? What do they know?

    Glad to know you can see. That was fast, wasn’t it? And how are you feeling now?

    Thanks for your concern!

Leave a Reply

