76 and Counting…

Yesterday was my 76th birthday, and it coincided with the Jewish New Year, Rosh Hashana, exactly the same setting as when I was born (so my parents told me).  It may mean a better start, and that is what I am most fervently hoping!

Rosana is here, and it is great to have her with us, but unfortunately I am quite unwell.  Dr. H finally increased my thyroid dosage, and I started on the 1st of September.  It is still too soon to feel any effect, I know, but of course I would have wanted to get better right away.

It is so sad to be here and not able to enjoy Rosana’s visit to the fullest!  She and Valerie sent me three boxes of Charles chocolate – the best ever.  Anna Amato also sent me some wonderful Lindt chocolates.  I got 26 birthday messages on Facebook; many virtual as well as “real” cards; several phone calls from all over the world; flowers and kisses galore… I should not complain.

I should not complain, I say, but I do, and I only wish I could have been more “awake”.  These past days I have been getting up from bed at around 5:00pm.  Not amusing. I have bouts of frustration and anger, and I feel bad for Guido and Rosana, who have to bear with me.  Guido is not well these days, but he tries to help as much as possible.  And Rosana has to go back to SF – to her husband and to work…

So many have asked me how I am feeling and wonder how I am doing that I had to summon enough strength to write this brief update. I hope it satisfies everybody. This is all I can handle at the moment.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 76 and Counting…

  1. Pat says:

    Happy Birthday, Marta.

    I know things are tough. I’m thinking of you and Guido.
    Let’s hope the New Year brings renewed health for both of you.

    Abbracci tanti caldi a voi,
    Pat Sachs

  2. martisima says:

    Thank you very much, cara Pat! We are trying to survive, and hopng the New Year brings better health. I know you understand this very well, and I appreciate your warm message. Abbracci to you too! martha

Leave a Reply

