Sunday… Again!

Sunday… again!  How many Sundays since I started my post surgery life?  It doesn’t matter.  They are all the same.  This one, however, is worse.  Rosana had left, then Valeria arrived, and now she is gone too.  It makes me sad, but I am fortunate that I can be with them daily in Facebook.  It helps a bit…

We simply need to at least start thinking seriously about moving to San Francisco to be with our daughters.  I do not want to stay here any longer, but it will take time to convince Guido to agree. Now he says there are earthquakes there.  Here we “only” have storms, snow, ice, remnants of the hurricanes, and power failures!  He is not being rational.

I am tired of the doctors here, of the distances that prevent us from seeing some friends, of the weather, of the politics.  We are too close to the center of power, and the news tends to be pervading, wherever you go.

We were finally able to see Elli and Jean-Paul, here from Paris for a very brief (too brief) stay.  We miss them, and hope that they will eventually decide to come back here. It is too early to tell. Elli brought me some chocolates that are truly from heaven – Jeff de Bruges. Naturally, I immediately checked the Internet to buy some more soon, but they are available only in the UK, and in some European and Arab countries.  How will I be able to buy them? They are Franco-Belgian. If anyone has a tip about this, please pass it on. I am dying for them. No matter how sick I may be, chocolate is a cure all, especially the good one.  Don’t forget that sick children were given only chocolate to cure them in the Harry Potter books 😉

Some more about our daughters now, to give them credit.  This is not only about me!  Rosana got a press pass to a “green” conference, so she spent the day there: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=236162&id=708713171&l=15ea66392e

Now she has to write 2 blog posts about it in exchange for the pass, for Eco Tuesday, a green networking group she has been going to.

Valeria is back home, happy to see her three cats, and also Creg, I assume, and getting ready for more Habitat for Humanity.  We already miss her bubbly disposition, her shopping and cooking, and her organization skills (my kitchen thanks her).

Once more, I repeat – I want to move to San Francisco as soon as possible. Maybe if I repeat it often it will happen sooner…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday… Again!

  1. Just click your red shoes three times and say, “There’s no place like San Francisco!”

  2. martisima says:

    Good idea! I’ll try it. And I have to close my eyes too…

  3. Anna Amato says:

    As my friend in California – The minister who works for hospice and marches for human rights…the one with a psychic soul – says,,,,,focus on the intention – if you live in the intention it will happen – so you say ‘I’m going to live in San Francisco!’

    I’m going to the dentist on Thursday – you know what that means – chocolate! my eye is fluttering and I have a rare cell there – which they have to watch of course. So my eye and I deserve chocolate!

  4. martisima says:

    I will click my shoes and say “I’m going to live in San Francisco!” several times a day. Tell your friend to help too! I am already visualizing living there, as we were taught in yoga class.

    Dentist means chocolate, of course. But please do not remind me. I have not gone in a year, since my surgery! The ophtalmologist is easier, but I still have to see him too.

    If your eye is fluttering, do make sure you are not looking at a handsome guy –unless you mean it 😉

  5. Rafael says:

    My cousin has a house in Pleasant Hill they want to sell. (I know that sounds a little like a bad advertising for swamp land in Florida. 😉 But this is for real. The house is very comfortable in a quiet town only about 30 min east of San Francisco. It’s not on the market… yet. But my cousin and her husband have relocated to be near their family in New Mexico. And they told me they’d like to sell. I know the house well, having stayed there a few times myself. Rosana has also been there a couple of times. I’m pretty sure that it’s worth a discussion at the very least. Plenty of rooms for all your stuff; good sized kitchen; two car garage. Better weather and no snow. The particular neighborhood is very quiet, the politics are more leftish, and of course you’d only be a half hour away! Let me know and I’ll hook you up for a conversation.

Leave a Reply

