Vargas Llosa Is Awarded Nobel Prize in Literature (“Peruvian” writer???)

The Swedish Academy said that it was honoring the 74-year-old author “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt and defeat.”(???)

Really? Isn’t he a Spanish citizen now, not Peruvian? He left his native country when he lost his bid to become president (I am not making this up).  Went to Spain and became a citizen.  Just like a kid – he didn’t want to play any longer when he lost…

He lives in New York, London, Spain — not in Peru!

And what else has he written lately other than newspaper columns and mediocre novels???? Shame on the Swedish Academy!!!

Vargas Llosa Is Awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

www.nytimes.com 

The Peruvian writer’s deeply political work examines the perils of power and corruption in Latin America.

“Deeply political work”, I ask? Since when?  And he certainly does not need the 10 million kronor, or about $1.5 million!

There are many other writers who really deserve the Nobel prize.  Some of their past selections show that the Swedes are not well versed in literature. Maybe they should abolish this prize, or else get members on the committee who know what literature means.  Also, some who recognize that women are also writers.  Toni Morrison was an exception, certainly deserved, but where are the others?

On to other more pressing matters now. But I had to make my objection known!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

