Another Weekend, and More Unanswered Questions

As many already know, I am not well at all. I am now hyperthyroid instead of hypo (it seems).  I cannot even go out to enjoy the weather.  I go from the car to the doctors’ offices or the supermarkets, when Guido takes me there, if I can get up.  Then, I can breathe the air (not great anyway).  I follow the change of the seasons and the gorgeous colors of the leaves from the window in the bedroom. At least, I can do that!

I am also very tired, weak, anxious, frustrated, and angry. Doctors are not helping. Actually, they are making things worse by giving contradictory answers.  Fortunately, I find great solace talking to friends, many good old friends, curiously enough, mostly from Urbana, Illinois. Even though they live in other states, and we have not seen each other in a long time, we communicate often and talk for hours.

One of them just thanked me for the articles I put here in my blog. And, really, they are part of me. I feel very strongly about many issues, and I voice them in any way I can. The articles are therefore an intrinsic part of me. They reflect who I am.  Not caring to read them means not knowing me well — only partially. Here goes another one, very timely.

Read and take action, PLEASE!

secure3.convio.net
While Costco continues to grow bigger and bigger, so does its footprint on the environment. Costco is destroying our oceans through its horrible seafood purchasing practices, leaving its customers in the dark by hiding the truth from them.
About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

