More Doctors, and More Waiting, and More Sickness…

Very bad end of the week. I continued having optical migraines.  Mostly, I was totally wiped out.  Couldn’t even get on e-mail yesterday and today, so who knows how many messages are out there waiting.  I could not go shopping so I placed an online order for Peapod (Giant).  Naturally, with this weather, salads, vegetables, and fruit were already somewhat spoiled – almost frozen.

Today I had made up my mind I would go to Balducci’s.  I could not.  Guido wanted to go, but I need lots of food.  Besides, he is not feeling well again.  We had been so pleased that he was feeling somewhat better, but as it often happens, all of a sudden there is a setback.  We cannot take care of each other, so we are stuck.  As soon as we get better, it will be SF, here we come!

I am really despondent.  Some things that could be laughable are now becoming serious. The past incident of me throwing the rubber gloves in the trash could be taken as funny, but what happened yesterday was not.  I wanted to make some minestrone, good for the cold weather we are having.  It is not an easy dish, especially if one is not well. I made it one vegetable at a time. After an hour of simmering, I tasted it.  The lentils were very hard, but I thought they would be fine later.  When we were about to have dinner, I noticed that they had risen to the top, so I skimmed as many as I could.  They also had a strange pear shape… We ate the minestrone anyway, but I discerned a strange taste to it, and the lentils were still hard.

It was only later that I realized I had put roasted sunflower seeds instead of lentils…  Now I have to put the rest in the blender, if and when I have time.  It is even worse when you consider it was our main and only dinner course.

This is really bad. I can’t believe that one person told me that thyroid problems are some of the easiest to cure, once they find the right dose, based on what happened to a relative.  Indeed, once you find the right dose!  I had surgery in July 2009. In August 2009 I started a list of the thyroid replacement I was taking. Every month after that I wrote down the new dose.  And every month it has been different. So, here I am, one year and three months after surgery, and still the dose is not right. Up and down I go, and I continue being sick. First I was hypothyroid; last month I became hyper.  And nothing can be done until I have taken the new dose for a month. Then, I have another blood test, and another dose. Until when, I ask?  I am not the only one who asks this. Unfortunately, there are many in my Internet group that are much worse, and others who have been struggling with this for many years.  Maybe all I need is a good doctor…

As another fellow sufferer put it, “If you have had a thyroidectomy, it’s important that you have a doctor who really understands that you depend on the medication for your very life, and for the rest of your life.  Most doctors treat thyroid problems very routinely and dismiss patient complaints or requests if they don’t fit what they’ve been taught (and frequently they don’t). They learned: Draw blood, test TSH, prescribe based on results. Pay no attention to symptoms – prescribe depression meds, cholesterol meds, etc., when many times these are really symptoms of inadequate thyroid treatment.  And once a good doctor is found, there’s no guarantee that you will be able to see him for the rest of your life (and it’s unlikely to happen). He may retire, move away, die. You may move away, find yourself without the resources to pay for appointments (most of the good docs do not accept insurance).”  Ah, so very true!

I am waiting for a more convenient appointment with Dr. S, hoping that he may be able to do something.  They called me yesterday to tell me they have one earlier – the 28th of March .  I took it, even though it is in the Denton office (Eastern shore!).  They also told me that I am on the list for cancellations, and it may happen soon.

After that, there will be another waiting game for Johns Hopkins.  I have my physical on Monday, and then Dr. P will try to get me in there.

Every day I hope to wake up feeling better. I hope it happens tomorrow. I do need to go to the grocery store!!!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Doctors, and More Waiting, and More Sickness…

  1. Anna Amato says:

    I am so sorry for this continued setback – and I have to agree with your opinion about doctors and how routine they are in treating thyroid disease but not the people who are attached to the disease – you’re in my prayers – lighting the candles now! one white one red and a Witches Brew –

  2. martisima says:

    Thanks so very much, dear Anna! You really understand what we are going through, and I appreciate it! I love the Witches Brew above all 😉

Leave a Reply

