Thanksgiving, Facebook, Nostalgia, Friends…

We are getting close to one of my dreaded holidays – Thanksgiving.  Not that I have nothing to be thankful for, because I do, but it is disruptive. The stores are packed. The regular grocery shopping becomes madness. We can’t be with our daughters (yet).  On the positive side, we had two very special invitations for this day, both from close friends who offered to come here and drive us to their homes for dinner and bring us back.  Isn’t this something? I was very touched!  But there is no way we can go anywhere, even if they sent a helicopter.  Well, they are sending some food our way… I bought two pheasants, so we can at least join in the part that is most important of this holiday: eating!

Valeria’s menu is awesome, as she described it in Facebook (for 19 people so far, and counting, maybe):

dates stuffed with manchego and chorizo, wrapped in bacon
boursin cheese torta with sun dried tomatoes, olives, and pesto
crostini with homemade fig jam and goat cheese
squash soup
clam chowder
turkey with sage butter
caramelized onion gravy
cranberry sauce
stuffing with sausage and chestnuts
garlic mashed potatoes
sweet potato casserole
peas with prosciutto
garlic lemon green beans
corn pudding
savory bread pudding
…and whatever pies my sister comes up with!

Guido has started helping with the disaster on the ground. I had several offers of help, but this is something we have to do on our own. I get tired easily and cannot spend too much time on this, so it has to be done a little at a time.  But what I do need only Guido and Valerie can give me: “Do you really need this?  When did you last use this? You should throw this away!” It is the only way I’ll get rid of what should be discarded, even if I do it reluctantly!

I do want to give thanks for the Internet. It is connecting me with the world, especially now that I cannot go out much. I do a lot of shopping there, including groceries, but also almost everything else I need.  Facebook has been an additional blessing.  I have found several relatives there, and many “old” friends, mostly from our days in Urbana, Illinois.  Many are scattered all over the world, and some I have not seen for years!  One of Valerie’s friends from elementary school wrote that she remembers a rice and tuna salad I used to make 😉  The comments from friends in FB make me laugh and cry.

Those days in Urbana were very special.  As one Facebbok friend wrote : “Bei ricordi degl’anni di Urbana.  Furono gli anni del freddo riscaldati dall’amicizia e dall’amatriciana” loosely translated as “Beautiful memories of the years in Urbana.  They were the years of the cold weather, warmed by friendship and amatriciana” (a sauce for pasta). Of course, it doesn’t sound as good in translation. Sorry.

Of the friends I have reconnected with, one, especially, has started to call me every weekend. Now we call each other every other weekend.  Thelma and I have realized how similar we are, and I look forward to those chats.  Her son and daughter are also Valerie’s friends from Amherst, where I found Thelma and Ercole some years after Urbana, not knowing they were there! And I can “see” everyone, depending on the photos they post. Mine will never tell people what I look like now…

I wonder if I am becoming nostalgic due to “older” age, or if these “findings” bring back good memories of those years.  I am living a lot in cyber world because I am not well and cannot get out.  It helps so much!!!

Next – on to another set of blood work tomorrow (if I make it) to see where I am standing now in terms of the thyroid function(what a way of putting it, since I am in bed most of the day – and I have no thyroid)!  And looking forward to the day when we can gather our belongings and go West. Maybe the pot of gold will be waiting for us there. Who knows?  I’d better start throwing away everything that seems unnecessary so that I won’t have too much to carry. And maybe there are better doctors there…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving, Facebook, Nostalgia, Friends…

  1. Pat says:

    Dear Marta,

    I wish you and Guido a good Thanksgiving, given your relentlessly trying circumstances. And I hope that you both regain the strength you require to make your move to San Francisco as soon as possible.

    Vi penso, e vi mando abbracci caldi.

    Pat

    • martisima says:

      Grazie,cara Pat! We are trying hard to regain our strength, but the medical profession is not cooperating. I have lost my faith in doctors.

      Hope you have a very good Thanksgiving too.

      Tanti abbracci,
      martha

  2. I get nostalgic about Urbana, too!

  3. martisima says:

    Who doesn’t? It is a place that causes nostalgia 😉

Leave a Reply

