Tabernacle! Illness, Doctors, Endocriminologists, Food…

What a drag!  Or should I say TabernacleChalice! (I am reading mystery books, and two happen to be by Canadian authors)… And I love the way those words sound.

I went to the optometrist yesterday, and he told me I am lucky to have something healthy in my body – the eyes.  Ain’t I fortunate?  In the meantime, I am feeling lousy.  I had to have blood drawn today for the Celiac test, but couldn’t get up, so Guido called and postponed it for tomorrow.  Hope I can make it… It will be a waste of time anyway!

Rosana and I seem to be the only ones who think that what I have is caused by the lack of thyroid.  After all, it is the second most important gland in the body. We both agree that before the surgery I was feeling quite well, always on the run with lots of energy.  How can we explain the lack of it now, in addition to all the other symptoms?  It s all typical of hypo or hyper thyroid. And I guess that’s the problem – most symptoms correspond to hypo, but a few others to hyper.

However, Guido sides with Drs. Hedaya and Pennington, who think I have something else in addition.  How can they tell? How can I tell?  All I can say is that I feel drained all the time – drained of energy, not feeling like getting up. I do make an effort and get up late afternoon, take a shower and get dressed, so that I can prepare dinner with Guido’s help. But it is typical of adrenal fatigue to feel better after 6:00PM.  When I showed Dr. P the questions from a book regarding adrenal fatigue and how I had answered yes to almost all, he dismissed it saying the questions were too general.  Why is it that doctors rarely accept comments or facts from patients?  It makes me very upset!

I used to sleep well all my life.  Now I cannot sleep, and that adds to my constant state of fogginess. So, the great gods prescribe Lunesta or Trazodone, all ineffective and worse, with bad side effects.  I give up.  Maybe a glass of wine will help.  At least, it will not have the side effects of the medications.

The food in the books by the Canadian authors also make me remember the wonderful meals we had in France, Italy, Spain, Buenos Aires too, and Mexico, and… very difficult to have here because of the lack of ingredients. Even when we were in Urbana I had to order quails by mail (no computers then), and we were lucky the husband of one of Guido’s colleagues liked to hunt.  We had lots of pheasants, and at times partridges!  Now I can order them through Balducci’s or directly from D’Artagnan (online), fresh.  Expensive? Yes.  But, who cares?  We have always closed our eyes to cost where food is concerned.  Hard to believe this, since Guido has always been quite thin, and still is. But we like to eat well.  As I was having breakfast today, we realized that the “toast” (fette biscottate) were Italian; the butter French; the honey and the coffee Italian.  So, the only “native” ingredient was the milk!

Even my friend Anna is Italian 😉  She brought us some great lentil soup yesterday, good for lunch today too.  And it had real lentils, not sunflower seeds…  I had gone downstairs for lunch (at 2:00), and thanked her, even though I was in my pajamas.  But she didn’t mind.  She did insist that I have to get a haircut.  I know, but I can’t make myself get up and go. I do have the name of a good stylist who can come here, but then, where can she cut my hair, and more important, when? I have an appointment for the MRI of the brain on Monday, and hope my hair doesn’t become magnetized or get caught in the machine.  But maybe it does, and then the machine will cut it.  A good solution 😉

Back to bed now, after having done some online shopping for the holidays, and for groceries for us.  I have too many e-mail messages, and at times I delete them when I reach the 600 count.  The “Thyroidless” group I have joined sends about 150 messages daily. It is a lot, but some are really helping me understand the thyroid problems, and the solutions too.  And they constantly remind me to stay away from “endocriminologists”!  So, if I have not replied to some of yours, now you know why.  Besides, sometimes I don’t know what to say. I was about to write “sorry” but then I stopped and asked myself  “why?” and I didn’t.  Figure it out!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

