More Tests, No Answers, Clueless Doctors

As I write this, the plumber is in our kitchen. We had to call them because the sink was suddenly stopped and we could not do anything about it, no matter how hard we tried.  Naturally, we had to pay a lot extra for emergency services, and who knows how much it will be when the plumber finishes, maybe close to midnight…  But, as long as he can fix the problem, we don’t really mind!

What I do mind is that we are wasting the taxpayers’ money. The brain MRI showed nothing wrong – no stroke, as Dr. P was expecting; the Celiac disease test was negative — just as I had told Dr. P it would be.  So, now he wants me to have a sleep study, an ultrasound of the carotid, and a gastroenterologist’s input. How many tests will I need before they all accept that what I have is caused mainly by the lack of thyroid, and the incorrect dosage of the medication?  Even Guido agrees with them! As I keep telling them, I was in perfect health and had lots of energy before the surgery.  What they respond is that the surgery itself may have caused some trauma, and they have to find out what it was… When will this end then?

I have also “fired” Dr. Hedaya. He was somewhat annoyed that I did not do everything he had told me, and that I said the lab where he sends the test for adrenal function is not good, according to my fellow thyroidless sufferers.  Doctors don’t like to be told they are wrong… He also wanted me to do the whole metabolic panel, the same he did Guido when he started with him. It means a lot of tests, in addition to $7,000.00.  He promised me that he is 95% sure he can make me feel well. What if I am the 5% “not sure”? I didn’t say that to him, but I think it may happen. I’ll have Dr. P as my main doctor, and Dr. H can be a consultant.  I need to continue calling Dr. S’s office to see if he can take me before the end of February.

In the meantime, I am in limbo. I don’t know what to do. My house is a real mess, and as I look at it and feel like closing my eyes and forgetting what I see, I become frustrated.  Guido tells me not to worry. We’ll manage.  I always wait for Valerie to come and help, which is not fair.  But she thinks that she may bring Creg along, and together they may help even more.  There is so much I need to throw away, but I can’t bring myself to do it. A little at a time. I just gave three large bags to Vietnam Veterans, and continue filling more bags for the next time they come to get them.

We will have a full dinner for Christmas Eve, courtesy of R, and T and D once again wanted to come and get us to spend the 25th with them. I can barely make it to see the doctors, so I keep asking them not to invite us. They know we cannot make it, and it makes us feel bad to have to repeatedly refuse their invitations.

I am getting tired. I realized it is already 11:20PM, and the plumber is still hammering away.  I always read for a couple of hours when I go to bed, because I know I cannot go to sleep right away. Now that Guido gave me a Kindle it is much easier. I thought I would not like it much because a book for me is paper, but I like the fact that if I want to read a new book I can have it in a few seconds. What will I do with all the books I have been buying?  For some reason, I don’t feel like watching films, something I always did before.  Can this also be a consequence of the thyroid surgery? 😉

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

