Remembering Ronald Reagan…

Health news not good. Doctors “screwing things up” in the words of my latest one, and he is right. I am so frustrated that I will turn to even more frustrating politics.

I have always wondered what people saw in Reagan.  Never understood how they saw him as the hero, when he was a fake cowboy, a poor actor, and an even worse president. Here is a good description of who he was and what he accomplished:

https://i0.wp.com/www.kirktoons.com/june_2004/images/06_01_04_Remembering_Reagan.jpg

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remembering Ronald Reagan…

  1. anna amato says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this – I’m watching the coverage of his 100 birthday and I’m thinking exactly the same thing – what did people see in him – he didn’t even run the country while he was President, others did!
    Thank you for sharing this

  2. anna amato says:

    Oh yes one more thought which I wanted to add at the end of that post – doesn’t that seem to be theme with Republican Presidents? Others tell them how to run the country; i.e. Cheney with W.?

  3. Good cartoon! And I think I’ve shared this quote: “Conservatives can’t govern well for the same reason a vegetarian can’t make a good beef stroganoff [though that’s not necessarily true ;-)]: it’s hard to do something well when you fundamentally don’t believe in it.” Or something like that. Didn’t Reagan and his ilk promote the deregulation that led to the financial crisis? Hmm, what about that?

Leave a Reply

