New Headers

Yes — it is in the plural. I am experimenting with uploading photos from my computer. The problem lies in the size.  Photos are rectangular but “deeper”.  In this one I got the three faces only, but I’ll leave it for a while.  I can only get the upper part, which is not bad if everything is aligned.  I really don’t have too many good photos, but I am tired of the ones the program offers.  They are very few, and not too inspiring.

I may give the impression that I am wasting my time, but this keeps my mind away from the horrors of the world, the dirty politics, the daily routine, the oppressive life I lead…  One good friend wrote to tell me that he was not writing to comfort me nor to tell me that he understands my suffering, but to keep me company. What a wonderful way to make me feel close to a true friend!  There is true understanding here, even though it is not meant to be such.

Coda:  Can anyone tell who the people in the photo are? Hint: only two of them are famous 😉

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Headers

  1. Why would anyone think you’re wasting your time? 😉

  2. martisima says:

    I know someone… What do you think of the fruits of my labor? 😉

  3. John Brett Parrish says:

    If one were to go to your website, Martita, one would see that these guys are Jose y Manuel, but no last names because that would ruin your game.

    I do not know who your friend is, by whom I mean the fellow who wanted to keep you company, but he is one hell of a guy, in my opinion.

  4. martisima says:

    Yes, John, but you cheated 😉 His name is actually José Emilio (you know how sensitive these writers can be about their name).

    He is, indeed, a very old and dear friend from way back in Urbana. He is also form Buenos Aires, and he has always helped us a lot. See? The people from Urbana seem to be the best, such as you, who “found” me after 50 years of having been my student there, at the good ol’ U of I!

  5. martisima says:

    Sorry — my previous message was poorly worded. It is getting late and I am getting tired.

    I meant that of the two guys is José Emilio.

    The friend who wrote is Andrés. He is the old and dear friend from Urbana.

    Hope it is clear now!

  6. martisima says:

    Again, not clear!!!!!!!! “Of the two guys, one is José Emilio”. Enough for me tonight 😉

  7. Rafael says:

    Well, whoever they are (and yourself), you gotta love the film noirish look of this header! If you weren’t smiling, you look like a gang of revolutionaries! 😉

  8. martisima says:

    Revolutionaries? My pals would love to hear that! But I don’t really fit — not dressed for the part. Only the boots…

  9. martisima says:

    Manuel Puig and José Emilio Pacheco.

  10. Anna Amato says:

    I read and respond for the same reason; to keep you company, to let you know that someone is out there thinking about you. It’s your time and how you fill it is never a waste! I love the pictures,,,,keep experimenting.

  11. martisima says:

    Thanks so much, dear Anna! I deeply appreciate your concern and your company!

Leave a Reply

