Boat, Tests, Tsunami…

Yes, it is Sunday, again… Funny how every week goes by and ends in Sunday (except for the gringo calendars which start the week on Sunday rather than Monday – as if they had to do everything differently from others, to prove … what?)

Guido went to check on the boat and took Jean-Paul with him. They told me they had a very good lunch in a restaurant out there on the Bay.  What will happen now that J-P is going back to Paris?  Guido does not have too many friends, actually, almost nobody else. He needs to go to the boat more often, and I cannot go with him yet!  Hope he can find more kindred souls to accompany him.  Goodman does occasionally, but he is quite busy with his practice and constant research and new classes.

We do need to be in San Francisco. They have lots of marinas there!  We would not be able to take this boat, and I guess that is what worries Guido the most. He put so much time and love in “Water Music” that it will be almost impossible to leave her here.  It will also be almost impossible to find another Grand Banks 32 like this one. They don’t make them any longer… But, how else can she go to the West Coast other than through the Panama Canal? And who would take her?  Not us, for sure!  We’ll have to figure this one out when we are ready. Some people here do not realize how difficult it is to transport a boat, and they think it can be done through the mountains and valleys… 😉

As far as I am concerned, things are at a standstill.  I will be having more blood tests on Thursday and then have to see Dr. Sivieri on the 24th.  In the meantime, and as he is a holistic doctor, he had me do a hair test for metals. It was not that easy.  Guido had to cut samples of my hair from the back of the head with stainless steel scissors, cutting the hair in small amounts from five or six different areas, as close to the scalp as possible.  And, as each piece of hair was cut, he had to save only one inch of the hair closest to the scalp, then cut it off and discard the rest.  Finally, he had to place all the saved hair on the paper scales included (quite rudimentary).  He had to keep cutting and adding this hair to the scales card until it tipped.  It took forever, it seemed, and I have quite  a few bare patches on my head.  Five to six were not enough to tip the scales!

All this was done to check for the following: Aluminum, Heavy Metals, Cadmium, Calcium Serum Assay, Chromium, Copper, Iron Serum, Lead Blood, Lithium Serum, Magnesium Serum, Manganese, Mercury, Nickel, Selenium, Zinc, Unlisted Chemistry Procedure (yes, this last one is not a joke, and it costs $5.00, as most of the others).  It reminded me of the song by Tom Lehrer, “The Elements.” After listing them all very fast, he ends singing “These are the only ones of which the news has come to Ha’vard/And there may be many others, but they haven’t been disca’vard.”)  If you are familiar with the song you’ll realize why I remember it. And if you are not, then you are not my friend either.  Nobody can be a friend if s/he has not heard of Tom Lehrer and his songs!

Why all these tests?  This is the same question I ask.  It is typical of holistic doctors to check for metals, in case they are also part of the problem.  There seem to be quite a few hidden diseases, and they want to rule them out.  Allopathic doctors are similar, too.  Pennington wanted to check my carotid, the stomach, Celiac (which I do not have) and so on. Each one has different ideas, but basically they all want to make sure there is nothing else — to be on the safe side!

As Rosana keeps saying, aren’t my symptoms typical of hypothyroidism caused by removal of the gland?  Yes, I agree.  They are.  So, why all these other tests?  To indulge the doctors, but also to make them see it is not what they think.  In the meantime, I have to got through all these procedures, not them! And we are also wasting a lot of our money, not to mention the taxpayers. The insurance covers some of the tests; still, someone is paying for them…

What this all means is that I am still waiting.  Every time they do tests and change the dosage, and add new supplements, it means waiting for at least four weeks before deciding if it is working. One day I may get the shock of my life when the medication does work and I feel better. It will come as a surprise, which is crazy, actually, as if nothing had happened in this year and eight months since my surgery.  In addition, doctors continue to ignore the fact that I also had two parathyroid glands removed then because they had adenomas. This affects the calcium, and if I don’t remind them they forget to check it.  Dr. Sivieri was the only one who saw the need for the test!

It could be worse.  Let us put things in perspective.  I started watching the videos of the earthquake but could not finish.  I am generally quite emotional, but this was too much, especially since I am more sensitive these days.  We were also lucky that our daughters were fine. The tsunami hit some coastal areas in California but it spared San Francisco. We were quite fortunate! There are some things for which I am truly thankful!

And in Japan they are now telling people to have their thyroid checked because of the radiation leaks.  At least, they are quite aware of the importance of this small but efficient gland… Wish I still had it. I miss it! 😉

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

