A Larger Tragedy – Get Out of Your Bubble!

Another day full of bad news, and this time it is really bad. I simply cannot understand some people who have not even seen one bit of what happened in Japan. Fortunately, they are few, but still… It is almost impossible not to know what is going on, with everything that is being said. I also admire so many people who are doing so much to help.  Among them are some of my former students, and it makes me greatly satisfied to see what they are doing.

I do understand that some people are trying not to think too much about these tragedies because they are truly overwhelming, but when some are only thinking about their next pair of shoes (a general statement meaning a lot if you get it), it makes me feel like screaming at them. People who are insensitive to these events are also the ones who are insensitive to their friends’ suffering. They go together.  And what is so ironic is that they do not realize it themselves, so caught up are they in their small and frivolous world.

We all know that human beings are born selfish. Small children have to be taught to share.  It is part of their survival. But as they grow older they should know better.  This leads me to the conclusion that some never grew up… Those are the ones who do not really know the meaning of true love, even for their spouses; the ones who live in a world of privilege they did not have when they were growing up, and are too caught up in it to see outside of their bubble.

Still – the comments I have seen in Facebook, the messages I have been getting, the newspaper articles (I subscribe to five from different countries, not just from here), show that everything I have said before applies only to a few. But they are the ones who stand out at a time like this, and I cannot excuse them.  No, I am not adopting a  “holier than thou” attitude. You know me better. I am expressing my anguish at a tragedy that begs our unconditional help. Nothing more, nothing less!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Larger Tragedy – Get Out of Your Bubble!

  1. Adobe is doing a 2 for 1 match–they’ll usually match 1-1 what you give to charities (up to a certain amount), but for this they’ll match twice what you give.

  2. martisima says:

    That’s wonderful. Hope they all do that, and more!

Leave a Reply

