Green Fruit…

We order many groceries from both Peapod (Giant) and Safeway. It is not great, but since we cannot go to the grocery store, it is an alternative.

Guido has become quite an expert at Balducci’s, but that’s the only place where he shops once a week. Nobody can be like I was, shopping at six different grocery stores!  He does fine, so far, with a list from me and at times his own “intuition.”  Some friends also bring me groceries, but they don’t know me that well, and some substitute things we don’t eat.  It is so embarrassing to have to tell them otherwise that I don’t say anything.  But I do not like to throw food away, so I have been asking fewer and fewer favors. Besides, if I can’t go to the door and Guido is not here, I can’t pay them.  Most don’t even dream of charging me but I know others expect me to, and I understand, even if they could afford it.

Others bring me prepared food, but again, it is not easy to know what we like.  We are not finicky eaters, as many tell us we are.  We believe in enjoying food, and we like to eat well.  Once I spent eight dollars for two heirloom tomatoes, and a friend was in shock!  That gives you an idea about what we like and what others would never consider buying. We love to eat, and we love to eat well and take our time, sit down at the dining room table and enjoy the food.  We do this even nowadays, when neither Guido nor I are very hungry. But at least, we enjoy the little we eat.

Back to where I started, and that was really the intention of this post.  The paragraphs in between are digressions. That’s my problem –I sit down to write and it is as if my fingers went across the keyboard on their own.

Where was I?  Oh, yes, the grocery stores and their delivery.  On Thursday I got the order from Peapod.  I was too tired to go to have my blood tests that day, so it was better for them to come when I was here.  I hardly slept that night.  I was throwing up all the time…  I know why it happened, and it is probably this what got me to write about food.

Many people have lost the taste of a ripe plum or tomato, or almost anything else. They eat fast while watching TV, do not even bother to chew but swallow food almost whole so that they are done and go on to other things.  I even remember a long time ago I was at a meeting at the university, and one of my colleagues got out a fruit and started eating (it was one of those “lunch meetings,” so typical of this country).  I heard a crunching noise, and noticed she was eating a pear!  I always remember this because I could not understand how someone could eat a green pear.  And that is what happened to me. I had bought a container of mango and papaya, and they were already peeled and sliced. I had nibbled some pieces, trying to find at least one ripe enough to eat, but they were all hard as a rock.  And by just nibbling them I got sick.  Yes – I should have known better and not bought something already prepared… But since I get so tired, I can’t even think of peeling fruit at times. Guido does it for me mostly, but I don’t want to ask too much!

I was angry, and I sent them a message about it.  They called and wanted to know if I had seen a doctor. You probably know where this is going. I told them I didn’t need to see a doctor, but that I had been up all night throwing up and cursing the whole world… They are going to “investigate” it. They asked me if I still had the “product’, but Guido told me to throw it away immediately, which I did.  I get refunds for bad products, but as I told them, if I have food delivered it is because I can’t go to the store.  I’d rather have the product than a refund. And no, I would never sue them for this!

What they need to learn is that there are some of us who do not want to eat green fruit, and we get sick if we do. Maybe others have stomachs that have become strong and immune to green fruit, but we do not!  Will they ever learn? I strongly doubt it, until more people complain or get sick.  But that will not happen soon, if at all. In the meantime, no more green fruit.  Get it whole and touch it and smell it. Wish I could do it…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

