Doctors and Jobs and Retirement Fund

Back here on a Monday, after having enjoyed Anna Capoccia’s homemade lasagna. We have enough for another time too!

I saw Dr. Sivieri on Thursday, and we went over all the test results, which he still claims do not mean much. My symptoms are a better indicator, so he raised my thyroid medication, which made Guido very happy because that’s what he thought needed to be done. Another thing some do not realize is that the medication has to be raised in small doses. It cannot go up too much. Even with this increase, I have to take my pulse several times and tell him if I have palpitations. As you can tell (I hope) it is a very slow and tedious process. He also found that I have high levels of mercury and aluminum in my cells, but extracting them will have to wait until my thyroid medication is working, as the process leaves people very tired.

And the metals are not from any food, but from the filings in the teeth, of which I had quite a few throughout my life, unfortunately… Some metals may also come from the water and bad plastics, as we all well know, but it may be too late for some of us.

Valeria worked for 12 years at Henry Hall Designs as Operational Manager, but she had to resign because of some problems I do not want to mention in this public forum. She started looking for another job, and she finally found one at “A company rooted in San Francisco – Veritable Vegetable is the nation’s oldest distributor of certified organic produce. Through the creativity and hard work of many women and men who have worked here since 1974, we’re proud to have earned a reputation for quality, integrity, and leadership.”

Since she had already planned her travel to Italy with Creg on March 31st, she is starting when they get back, mid April.  It is great, but… she is taking a cut in salary, and as she is starting, she’ll have only two weeks vacation per year, which have been increased to three because they want her to be happy! This is something I have to tell people from other countries, or even others who have never worked in “ordinary” companies before. They have much better vacation packages everywhere else! How can they understand? As I have said many times, people who are not sick themselves cannot understand the ones who are sick. By the same token, people who had money coming easily to them cannot understand the plight of others. We ourselves are not as well off as we were when we worked. Retirement funds are not good for some of us. Guido’s funds depend on the market. Last year they went down, together with the market. This year we are waiting anxiously, hoping that nothing happens until the 31st of March. For some odd and mysterious reason, that is the date when they decide the retirement income for the whole following year. My retirement is fixed, but it is quite low. We are not getting what we did before. I am not saying we have become poor, but we have to be more careful about many things. Fortunately, since we don’t work we don’t need many clothes, and we do not spend too much on gas. However, as you well know by now, we do not skimp on food!

I was very touched when I got a message from Elli telling me that she and Jean-Paul have been watching the market to see how the month will end for Guido’s retirement fund! It is very heartening to have friends who care so much, even though Elli is having a rough time too. I envy her attitude, though– she seldom complains!

We are fortunate to have friends who take care of us in may ways, even though some are sick or do not have much money, others work very hard, and still others live too far from us. I had put out a call for help to several local friends the other day, and they all delivered. Thanks to them I could take care of a huge problem concerning domestic help.

Every time we talk, my cousin from Buenos Aires keeps telling me we are fortunate to have each other. She lost her husband too early, and she is right. As long as I have Guido and our daughters, I do not need anything else – except being closer to Rosana and Valeria!

– – – – –

P.S. Some may have received a somewhat different private message. I am not repeating myself. I have edited it for this forum.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctors and Jobs and Retirement Fund

  1. Pat says:

    Yeah. I agree with your cousin.

    Pat Sachs

  2. martisima says:

    I know you do, and I appreciate your comment. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

