Of Gluten Free Diet, Travel, Still Alive!

I think it is Wednesday today.  (Checked, and it is!). I am very tired.  I have been taking medication for hypertension for many, many years, and these past few days I was almost nonexistent.  These are the latest readings:  118/68; 115/62; 104/65; 106/60; 113/61; 114/61;  105/73; 108/64; 103/59 – just to give you an idea.

I have never, ever, had it so low…  Guess I’ll have to see Dr Pennington, but I don’t want to have the dosage lowered because these medications have to be taken for life. I don’t want to have to check it all the time. I did because I was supposed to check the pulse, and the machine takes all.  I am still alive, I think. Maybe this is why I am so woozy and out of it.

I still have to wait two more weeks for the new thyroid tests, so I won’t know if there is any relation to the blood pressure. I sent an e-mail to Dr. Sivieri about it today, and I’ll see what he thinks.

We are about two weeks into the gluten free diet. Since I am so weak, I don’t make special meals for me. I eat whatever there is, but I do eat bread and biscuits. Those I cannot give up!  If, after the new tests, the doctor tells Guido he has to do this diet longer, I am out!  The corn pasta, even though it comes from Italy, is not that great… There is a very good place not too far from here, Lilit Café, and from their site I can see that they have great gluten free stuff – all kinds!  But, who has the time to go there?  It was hard enough when Ludy came on Saturday to take me to the Bethesda Co-op, as they also have a good selection of gluten free items. I felt almost like an invalid, as Ludy had to take my arm to get me out of the car and then back in… I need to go myself for these special items, and I was lucky that Ludy could take me and let Guido rest for once! Saturdays are the best days for shopping. There may not be too many items, but at least there is no traffic!

There is also Whole Foods, but when Guido went they had just moved to a larger store and had very few gluten free items.  And when I tried to get some muffins and banana bread and carrot cake from the Gluten Free Mall (an online store that carries everything), it would have cost me $40.00 just for the cooler, as many of those items are frozen.  I did splurge on a store I had already found when Guido had to do the diet last year.  It is in Spain, has a great name, El árbol de la vida (The Tree of Life), and they are the only ones that carry the Italian “fette biscottate” Guido loves for breakfast.  Since Valerie had sent us three types of bitter orange marmalade for us to tell her which was best, I had to order the fette.  If I tell you how much I spent for express delivery you will not believe it, so I won’t tell. 😉  But it is for food, and well worth it!

By the way, Valerie sent us about 24 jars of marmalade. I don’t remember exactly how many, and they are now in the basement, so I will not count them. I can only say it was a huge, heavy package!

And now, both she and Creg are back to reality, although Valerie is very happy with her new job. It was a big relief for her to find something, as she didn’t want to stay where she was. Can’t say more because it may end up in litigation. They had a super great time in Italy. The weather was perfect, the places where they stayed lovely. When they arrived, they stayed with Daniela and Giorgio, our friends from Milano, and were treated royally.  They are our friends, but had never met V and C, so it is doubly appreciated!  In Fano, their next stop, Guido’s sister was very happy that they ate everything she had cooked and loved it!  She fed them very well!  I am happy too that they could go to Italy now, because with the new job and more responsibilities, who knows when they can go back!  I am the one who wants to go there NOW!

Once again, I have to ask you to understand that if I have not answered some of your individual messages it is because I am not up to it.  By writing this for everybody, I don’t have to tell each one the same.  And, really, there isn’t that much new, as always…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Of Gluten Free Diet, Travel, Still Alive!

  1. What a drag! I hope you feel better very soon!

  2. Anna Amato says:

    I thought my blood pressure was low – yours is amazingly low – no wonder you’re woozy! I too am gluten free and you’re absolutely right – there is no substitute for bread or pasta – although Rudi’s Organic Spelt is pretty good – Don’t worry about responding, we know you’re out there when you post on Facebook – Donald Trump is bound to get your blood pressure and mine to go up! Today was my endocrinologist and tomorrow I have to see the podiatric surgeon – maybe a hairline fracture! will post when I know for certain – State bene!

    • martisima says:

      I had seen some spelt Englih muffins at the Bethesda Co-op, but according to Wikipedia, spelt has gluten! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spelt
      “Spelt contains about 57.9 percent carbohydrates (excluding 9.2 percent fibre), 17.0 percent protein and 3.0 percent fat, as well as dietary minerals and vitamins.[7] As it contains a moderate amount of gluten, it is suitable for some baking. In Germany, the unripe spelt grains are dried and eaten as Grünkern (‘green grain’).

      Because spelt contains gluten, is not suitable for people with coeliac disease.[8] Many people with an allergy or intolerance to common wheat can tolerate spelt.[9][10][11]”…

  3. Pat says:

    Corn pasta, from Italy or elsewhere–disgustoso.

Leave a Reply

