Our 51st Wedding Anniversary (Forgotten, Naturally), and Doctors … Again!

May already. Yes. Labor Day was yesterday, Sunday, so all laborers could rest doubly!

In my previous blog I forgot to say that Guido and I got up on April 22nd, went on about our chores as usual (well, when I got up), and it was only much later, when Rosana sent us congratulations, that we realized we had both forgotten it was our 51st wedding anniversary…  So much forgetting these days!  But then we were overwhelmed with phone calls, Facebook messages, emails, cards, even flowers.  It was good to know that our friends and relatives had not forgotten!  It gave us a very warm feeling, much needed.

Breaking news:  I went out today!  Last time it was Saturday 23rd, an expedition to the Bethesda Co-Op with Ludy. She liked it so much I had to promise her we’d go back again before Rosana’s visit.  She has a gluten and lactose free diet and I can find many products she likes there.  Today, however, it was to get blood drawn and talk to Dr. Pennington.  Guido and I were quite surprised. We realized that he has been doing research on thyroid issues and is quite updated, even with the topics holistic doctors support. It was really welcome!  Now, as usual, there will be another week of waiting for results, as he added several tests to the basic ones.

I fell asleep as soon as we got back home, even though it was already 5:00 pm.  I told Dr. P. I am getting worse rather than better. It is so very frustrating!!!  I have no energy, I am nervous and angry.  I wish I had more help as far as cooking is concerned, but that can come mainly from Valerie, when she can make it here.  But a worse obstacle is getting organized.  The house is a mess, and only someone who can live here for a few days and know what I want can help.  And I have to wait until the 19th to see Dr. Sivieri.  We do communicate almost daily by email, but it’s not the same.

I   need   to   get    better     soon!!!

People are a mystery to me.  Getting rid of Osama will not change much as far as terrorism is concerned. Al Qaeda is still alive and well, and he was not the only fanatic one.  Others will rise to power soon.  It was a good political maneuver that will have some effect, but in itself it does not entail a big change.

I need to stop now, as I am getting very, very tired, but I want to end with a quote I posted in my Facebook Profile, for those who are not there, because it expresses my views and my feelings (I have not become a cynic … yet):

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy.  Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars.  Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that”
~ Martin Luther King, Jr.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

