More on Doctors and Diet and Valerie’s New (great) Job

Friday the 13th.  It does not mean anything to me.  For us the “bad luck” day is Tuesday the 13th.  Don’t ask me why. I used to know, but I can’t remember now. I am still in a fog, woozy (I love this word!) and disconcerted and disconnected most of the time.  Going downhill, it seems…

A new doctor has joined the team, and they have all agreed on a new regimen of medication. I have just started so it’s still too early to tell.  It may take months to know if it works.. Once again, the patient needs to be patient 😉 — but I am losing it. Grrrrrrrrrr

There is one subject we discussed that I want to emphasize.  As we were talking about my lack of energy, and how I can’t do much, I told him that many people push me all the time to go out for a walk or to sit in the backyard.  He said that it is not a question of willpower but of being able to do it.  He added that people do not understand it. He himself has gone through something similar, so he can.  People who have not experienced this will never get it. He told me to ignore them. I will, but I also want to ask all who read this not to push me. Now you know it is not because I don’t want to, but because I cannot do it!

Many in my “thyroidless” group complained that their doctors told them they were lazy. It is so easy for them to say it because they don’t know what causes the lack of energy.  They choose the easiest way out, typically… Even most doctors do not understand what happens when the thyroid is removed.

I am anxious for Guido because he is now doing even more for me.  I have less strength than before, and he has to help all the time.  He hardly ever goes out – only to doctors and to the grocery store.

The gluten free fette arrived, but they were not good. What a waste… Guido goes back to eating “normally” on Tuesday. If, after the new tests, the doctor tells him that he has to go on the diet again, I hope he will not do it.  And if he does, I will eat separately and not cook for him!  Too many carbs are not good, we know. But no carbs at all or too little have been shown to make you sick!  We need to eat regular pasta and bread, and pastries!  There is a trend now to tell people they have gluten intolerance when they cannot prove they have Celiac disease.  We are too “mature” (you can read “old”) to go on any diet. Besides, eating is an ordeal for me. I am not hungry.  Therefore, I need to eat what I like!

Some friends who are interested have asked me about Valerie’s new job.  Rather than paraphrase her, here are some points she has made about it. She is very happy and doesn’t have to deal with crazy creatures (read “former boss”)…

******
My schedule is normally 6:45 am-3:00 pm, although there will be a couple of days a week in the future that I work 7:30 am-4:00 pm instead.  I have to get up very early, but then I’m done early and have time to do other things, so I like it.
I get reimbursed for anything I buy for my bike (new brakes, etc) up to $20 a month.
They also reimburse people who use public transportation instead of driving.
My bike ride is 2.5 miles, and takes about 20 minutes.  I found a route that is mostly flat (not easy to do here!)

The food program has many parts:

1. I pay $11 per week and can take home fresh produce from a designated area of the warehouse. It includes staples like potatoes, onions, etc. and seasonal items (today I got some strawberries!).
2. We can order things from UNFI at wholesale cost. UNFI is a company that sells packaged organic foods, like pasta, rice, flour, etc.  Whole Foods buys a lot of their stuff from them.
3. We have lunch catered 3 times a week.  It’s always vegetarian and ranges from soup, sandwiches, polenta, mexican food – the menu is hardly ever repeated.
4. Bagels on Friday mornings.
5. Scones and muffins on Tuesday mornings.
6. The kitchen is stocked with food for the times when there is not catered food.  Includes cereal, granola, yogurt, frozen burritos, oatmeal, Annies’ mac ‘n cheese, and more.
They also sponsor Farm Days, where we go and visit farms to learn about what they do.  I’m going on one tomorrow 🙂

******

Here is their site:  http://www.veritablevegetable.com/

It is obviously a wonderful place, where work is not only appreciated but rewarded! And they take good care of their employees.  Valerie is lucky to be there!

Back to poor me — until the doctors find the right medications and dosage, I am what I keep telling Guido: “a sack of potatoes”, lying in bed.  Fortunately, it has an adjustable foundation and I can read and write as if I were sitting.  With the air mattress it is even more comfortable than a sofa or a chair!  But I wish I could go out, do my own shopping, and, best of all, travel! I need to get out of this stifling environment, too close to the government, and go to a more enlightened area, such as San Francisco.  Italy (or Buenos Aires) would be better, but we want to be close to our daughters.

Rosana and Rafael will be here next Sunday (not this coming one), but only for a few days. Since it is a holiday they can take a few more days than in a regular weekend. Work, work, work.  Still, it is better than nothing for us!  And we still have some friends who are helping a lot!  I am grateful for this! It makes my situation somewhat more tolerable.

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

