No Personal Blogs Lately… Nothing New!

Many have asked about my lack of blogging.  Why blog, I ask, when there is nothing new to tell?  Same old…

Besides, I am very tired and sad.  Rosana and Rafael have come and gone.  The phone hardly ever rings. People are starting to go on vacation. Naturally.  Not us.  Am I envious? Yes, of course I am!

I also need to organize the mess I have around the house, but cannot get energized to do it.  Guido has volunteered to help, but I would have to tell him what to throw away, what to put in boxes, what to… I cannot do it, so everything keeps accumulating.  Maybe a big campfire will help 😉

An old friend likes to write letters and has asked me to do the same. It’s not that I don’t want to do it, but that I cannot do it.  My hands tremble.  I cannot write clearly.  Sorry!

Reading helps a lot, as does Facebook.  For the first “exercise”, I can recline in my great Sleep Comfort air bed with adjustable foundation (No. They have not paid me to advertise them. I simply love it, and it explains why I like to be there!).  For email and Facebook I can also sit comfortably at my desk and type away and answer all the messages, find out how my daughters and friends are doing (Valeria is beating records with her bicycle), become friends of my favorite writers (all women, and mostly Canadian, although one is Texan/British).  Love them and love their novels. They keep my mind alert.  As you have guessed, they are mystery writers. That genre requires special skills!

The Scandinavian guys are also doing well.  Sorry– I know they don’t like to be lumped together, so I’ll say the Swedes and the Norwegians.

I cry and scream a lot, but it is mostly out of frustration.  And I feel bad that Guido has to do so much. He is somewhat better, but not all that well. Thus, the days go by and I am still in limbo — lonely, frustrated, annoyed, ___  (fill in the blanks). When the phone rings it is mostly telemarketers or people asking for donations…

Better stop here, and hope that the new thyroid dosage I started today works soon.  Now I am not asking to be well – just slightly better, please!!!!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Personal Blogs Lately… Nothing New!

  1. Ana says:

    Querida Martha,

    te mando un beso fuerte desde Middlebury. Yo, como habrás leído en FB, no ando muy bien del todo últimamente. Este fin de semana está aquí Maria y eso nos alegra un montón la vida a las niñas y a mí. Es siempre muy duro cuando se va… Un abrazo fuerte, fuerte. Ana

  2. martisima says:

    Sí, querida Ana. Gracias!!! Ya he visto todo y hasta he gritado con tu hermano Juan. Tienes una familia muy especial. Es algo que me emociona siempre. Veo cómo corren a tu lado y escriben mensajes hermosos.

    Muchísimos abrazos muy fuertes desde aquí también! martha

Leave a Reply

