Test Results and More Doctors and Lost Friends and No Travel nor Dining Out…

Crazy weather, and it is only July.  Almost tropical.  Huge storms with thunder and lightening for a while, then the sun comes out.  And it is not always in the evening. It can happen during the night (and waking us up) or early afternoon, as today.  But I watch all this only from indoors, always with flashlights handy, in case we lose power.

I had an appointment with Dr. Pennington last week. We went through the results of the blood tests, and he said everything looked fine –but I am not fine, I wanted to shout at him!  He would not listen.  As he proceeded to check me out, he continued talking to Guido about boats, and how the one they had was in the same spot we are now at the marina in Hartge Yacht Harbor.  All this while he was listening to my heart, lungs, ears, eyes.  When I interrupted him to ask if there was any wax in my ears he said there was only a little, but went back to talking to Guido.  Great, isn’t it?  I left without knowing anything. He only said everything is OK and to see him in three months (remember “take an aspirin and call me in the morning”?)

Yesterday I saw Dr. Sivieri – a different story altogether.  He went through all the test results and noted some problems. He explained everything clearly, and addressed Guido too at times, but only in reference to what he was saying.  For the first time I heard a good explanation of what is happening to me.  I always wondered why every single doctor asked me several times how I was before the surgery, and then asked Guido the same.  Finally, they accepted that I was a totally different person – never tired, full of energy, no problems sleeping at night, happy. Now I am angry, moody, irritated, have no energy, I am weak, frustrated, not hungry (only for ice cream and chocolate, but I am losing weight anyway).  Dr. S told us that although what I had is not considered major surgery, the removal of the thyroid gland is major, as it causes all kinds of problems which are not the same in everyone. In my case, the hormones have been affected, as well as the adrenal glands, and perhaps the liver, and who knows what else… He did more tests, and gave me new prescriptions. He uses natural as well as chemical medications, according to the patient’s needs. He told us that one he gave me can be found in any grocery store in Latin America, yet here you need a prescription for it.  We’ll see….

Then, I had Dr W here again. I have told only some about him, as he has asked me not to say much. But he comes here, and that helps a lot!  He also told me that my hormones have been stressed, as well as my muscles, and who knows what other functions.  He is also concerned about the liver. He gave me some supplements to take.  When he comes he brings a special table and also gives me an osteopathic treatment.  I won’t say much more, but he gave us one “assignment”: to go out and have dinner  😉  He could not believe that we had not been to a restaurant in two years.  And I think that’s also what many have forgotten. It’s not only that I am sick, but that it has affected our life, socially and in every other way.  We are all by ourselves all the time.  The phone is not ringing as it used to, and friends are not bringing food any longer.  Some want to come and visit, but I feel bad because I could not offer them any refreshments nor be a good hostess.  I am too tired to talk at times 😦

But we are survivors, and Guido has become quite good at grocery shopping (even though he mostly goes to Balducci’s)–  and we are making the most of it, even though I break down many times a day… Dr. W told me to eat some fruit or drink some fruit juice when I am depressed. It seems to work!

Our daughters cannot come as often as they wished, as they have to work hard. Valeria has just started her new job. She had to work on a holiday, the fourth of July. They have a system by which they work on regular holidays, but can take eight extra days any time they want.  She likes it, and besides, the ninth of July, not the fourth, is the independence day for us. She and Creg may be coming soon, but only for a “long weekend”. That’s all they can afford now!

In spite of the downside of my condition, I am touched by the warm messages I get from friends. Unfortunately, most are either abroad or in other states. They help me more than they know, and I only wish we could be closer.  I also keep finding “old” and “lost” friends in Facebook, so my virtual world is expanding enormously!

I do hope I get well soon, move to San Francisco, and travel, travel, travel….. That’s all I want to do!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Test Results and More Doctors and Lost Friends and No Travel nor Dining Out…

  1. Anna Amato says:

    I read the first paragraph and was so aggravated with that doctor I was reading through my fingers – I despise men like that! I can believe Dr. S. – one of my sisters used to pick up some medications from people visiting the islands,, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic etc. which you needed a prescription for in this country.
    I hope you take his advice and try to go out to dinner or even a coffee shop. I look forward to hearing about that trip. I, for one, know that you are really sick and in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. martisima says:

    My dear Anna — You are one of those “friends” I mention. You not only live far from me, but we have never met. Yet, you do understand how I feel better than so many others, and you know what to say. Going out is, for now, only wishful thinking. I simply cannot do it…

Leave a Reply

