Strange Health News

When it rains, it pours – naturally. It has literally poured today, but still I had to go for my appointment with Dr. Sivieri.  He had done several blood tests. Lyme disease was negative – great!  But – thyroid levels still not good. 😦  Have to change dosage and wait seven more weeks.  What’s new?  Nothing in this front.  Always the same.

However, he was concerned about my low PTH (parathyroid hormone). I had two parathyroid glands removed at the time of the thyroid surgery.  I am taking calcium, and it showed OK, but not the parathyroid function.  Another problem that needs to be dealt with through some natural medication.  I still have to get it.  And Dr. P keeps telling me it doesn’t matter because it is not too low. Grrrr!!!!

Then, and this was the biggest surprise, the mono tests showed positive.  I will now use Guido’s words to describe it. I am somewhat dazed, and he caught Dr. S’s words better. “Today Martha received the news that her latest tests show that she has an infection process caused by the virus of mononucleosis. The current hypothesis is that the trauma of surgery and her weakened state after the same have brought on a re-awakening of the virus (which many people harbor without much of a problem), much like shingles occur when the chickenpox virus re-awakens later in life. This would of course explain her fatigue quite independently from the effects of the lack of proper thyroid balance. The next step is to try to calm the virus down by ingesting a so-called transfer medicine that comes from actually cultivating the virus in eggs, if I understand this correctly, much like the flu vaccine is derived.  So she will concentrate on this now for a month or two, with the hope that it might work!”  I have already called a lab in California and ordered the medication (natural, too).  Once again, I have to wait to get it and then take it…

We are anxiously awaiting the arrival of Irene, still hoping that she may turn Eastward, but afraid that she may indeed come to shore around Cape Hatteras and thus generate enough wind and tides to do some real damage on the Bay, and our poor Grand Banks, which Guido has been carefully cleaning and sailing.  We hope that the weather is better when Valerie and Creg come here for my birthday in a couple of weeks. They will stay for a very short time, so we have ordered the best weather for them. Hope someone out there (or up there, or wherever) listens.

When Dr Sivieri told me that he is trying to look at everything to make sense of my condition, I answered that if he looks for something he’ll find it.  I don’t think he caught my sarcasm…  It is true that there may be more than just the thyroid, and that surgery is a trauma which can awaken some hidden problems or even cause them.  He is not the first one to tell me this, but I don’t want to believe it. There!

I have to stop now, I am tired, groggy, frustrated, don’t eat much (I have lost weight, not that I needed or wanted to), and wondering, what next????

But I read a lot, listen to music thanks to a “box” that Guido gave me and where he put most of his CDs and mine, don’t watch many films (who knows why, maybe too much trouble), and I do eat chocolate every day! 😉

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strange Health News

  1. Wow, who would have thought? I guess the good thing is that this could be something they can actually deal with, so perhaps you will be at least somewhat less tired. I hope you get the medication soon and it works fast!

  2. martisima says:

    Yes, IF it is part of the cause…

  3. Anna Amato says:

    Unbelievable – will they ever figure this out? Mono, something that could make some kind of sense but not enough! I hope we all survive this storm – my prayers are with you all!

  4. martisima says:

    Thanks so much, cara Anna! I also feel it may not be the case, but I saw the results of the tests, and three show positive for mono…

    You too are in the path of Irene. Let’s hope it is not as bad as it seems!

Leave a Reply

