My Birthday, Chocolate, Daughters, Doctors, and Friends

“Nine out of ten people like chocolate. The tenth person always lies. – John Tullius”

I would never say I didn’t like it.  Unfortunately, friends know that I don’t only like it.  I love it!   So, I found my house flooded with all kinds of the best chocolate from friends (especially Anna Amato, a virtual Facebook friend), from Valeria, my baby daughter, and from me, of course.  You won’t believe how much I have hidden. But only the best for me, and everybody knows it!

It was a special birthday, with Valeria and Creg here.  It had been raining forever, and there were floods everywhere, but  they brought the sunshine from San Francisco. They were also able to go out on the boat on Saturday, which made Guido happy, since I cannot be his first mate now.  It was the perfect day in the Bay (it even rhymes!) for them.   Later it was awesome – Valeria had made reservations for dinner at Jaleo, and I had to go – for the first time in over two years, since I had thyroid surgery!  And I really enjoyed the food there. And didn’t mind turning 77. Actually, it looks good… in writing.  It is even, perfectly balanced.  😉

But all good things must end, and they had to return home. Work calls. But not before Creg managed to fix some cabinets and drawers in the kitchen, and Valeria made her trademark polenta and pasta.

I was overwhelmed with lovely posts on Facebook from friends I know and also some who are virtual, as well as by calls from many friends and relatives from all over – Argentina, Brasil, Spain, Italy, France , and local, too. I have to admit that I enjoyed the day, and did not mind at all being one year older.

Now I have to wait until November, when Guido turns 80 and it is Rosana’s turn to come and visit and help us celebrate!

I am still feeling sick, taking a special medication for mono (a natural compound which seems to be helping a bit.) I am also trying to get up, shower and dress before lunch. Quite an accomplishment. Until now, it was always before dinner. I am following one doctor’s advice: do not push too much.  I get many “encouragements” to get up and out, but it has to be when my body is ready for it.  It is not in my mind! I still have to continue having monthly blood tests to see if the thyroid medications are working. I know it takes time, and I am trying my best to be patient, but it is not easy.

I read a lot, listen to music, write emails and posts on Facebook and occasionally here, but I still cannot even have my hair cut. I only go out to see doctors – not my friends, for sure, but it takes a lot of energy to go out more than once or twice a week. And sometimes Ludy comes and drives me to the grocery stores which Guido avoids.

My good friend Thelma is very sick, and I am very worried about her. She lives in Amherst (Massachussetts), too far for me to travel. Still, I wish I could… She is one of the very old friends – from 1957 at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.  Those were good years, and we seem to have made many good friends we communicate with even to this day.  A few live in this area, but we don’t see them much – distances here are a barrier to friendship…

So, it is back to the old routine after a tryst I could not refuse (I mean the dinner outing — what were you thinking??)… 😉   And back to being in touch with new, virtual, and very old friends who call all the time, and who send me lovely messages that help enormously. Thank you!  I love you all!!!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Birthday, Chocolate, Daughters, Doctors, and Friends

  1. Peggy says:

    Hi Martha!!! Nice to read that you spent a nice day on your birthday. Turning 77 is not a great deal I’m turning into 78!!!!! I agree with you, eating chocolate is a great treat, although my liver doesn’t think the same…Hope you can take advantage and go out before the weather starts turning too cold. We had quite a cold winter and now in spring days are longer but still quite fresh.
    Hope things get better ….Love Peggy

  2. martisima says:

    Thanks, Peggy! Mima called me, so I had a direct line to Buenos Aires!. Fortunately, my liver doesn’t seem to mind the chocolate, and even if it did, I would not listen. We need to enjoy the good things in life NOW! Abrazos,!!!

Leave a Reply

