Health Issues (Again, Yes!), Daily (Non) Activities, New Language…

I am afraid I spoke too soon.  It’s either that or someone is giving me the evil eye 😉

The fact is that I have become steadily worse. I am taking all the medications prescribed by my doctors (mostly natural), but nothing seems to help. I had an appointment with Dr. Pennington (our pcp – primary care physician) on Friday but couldn’t make it. I have to go tomorrow instead, if I can get up… I don’t know why I continue seeing him. He doesn’t know much about thyroid issues and keeps telling me the PTH (parathyroid hormone function) is fine, even though it is quite low, and Dr. Sivieri also thinks it is not normal.  But we need to have a general physician who can see us when we need it, even though we are paying too much for it.  Oh, well…..

Some may think that my relapse was due to several issues that have come together – Valeria leaving, the weather cold and grey, and my good friend Thelma getting worse. She called me yesterday from the hospital. They are going to transfer her to a hospice.  She had just had hip replacement surgery, and all of a sudden they discovered an inoperable brain tumor.  How can something like this happen to such a wonderful woman???  I am angry!  She could hardly speak, and instead of comforting her we both broke down and could not finish the conversation.  She is lucky that both her son and daughter, as well as her grandchildren, live nearby.

But it was not any of those matters that make me feel lousy!  I had started getting up at noon, but yesterday and today I could not do even that.  NO I am not depressed, and I cannot get better just by trying.  My body is not responding, and the evidence is in the temperatures I take daily to follow the adrenal function.  The charts do not lie: it seems to be completely off!  I’ll send an email to my alternative doctor tomorrow and ask him what to do about it.  In the meantime, we are watching the thyroid, the parathyroid function, and all the others that have been affected.  It is hard to accept that all this is happening to me because of the thyroid surgery, but that is the fact.  Does anyone know about thyroid transplants? 😉

I take some comfort in talking on the phone to friends and family who are far away (and others who are close by, but cannot get together), reading (mostly on Kindle, but some “paper” books), and listening to music all day long (through a “squeeze box” that Guido gave me.

One of Guido’s doctors told him he needed to set himself an intellectual challenge, as he is still not well either.  He can’t go back to reviewing his book because it takes too much concentration, so he decided to learn a new language. I thought he meant a “real” language and was wondering which, as he already knows English, Spanish, French, and Italian.  It happens to be LINUX  – yes, a computer language.  He already has it in his server, but he wants to learn the “language”. Go figure…  Not my cup of tea (sorry, coffee)!

So, here I am on a Sunday evening, trying to stay up and around, but hardly managing to do it. I am writing this and sending it to some who do not check my blog (shame on them), rather than writing individual messages.  Sorry, folks, but that’s it for today!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Health Issues (Again, Yes!), Daily (Non) Activities, New Language…

  1. Rafael says:

    Hello Martha. So sorry to hear about your condition, and the situation with your friend in the hospice. And Guido, too. And the whole world, for that matter. I wish I could help more directly. Wish I had a miracle thyroid thing-a-ma-jig solution. Alas. Just wanted you to know that we appreciate hearing from you, the facebook recommendations, and all the goings-on in your world. You blog, therefore you is! Wherever you go, there you are. And wherever you are, there you go.

  2. martisima says:

    You are very special, dear Rafael, and I thank you very much for your kind words. I thought you’d be able to find a thyroid transplant for me… I go, therefore I am not!

  3. Vicki Delany says:

    You are brave and strong. I’m glad we’re able to be Internet Friends.

  4. martisima says:

    Thanks, Vicki. I am not as strong as you think, and I am also glad we became Facebook and email friends… Your books have helped me a lot, taking me to another world and making me interact with your characters.

    I wish you would reconsider publishing the book you sent me. I really loved it. It was a special birthday gift!

Leave a Reply

