I Am A Whiner. Why Not? Good Excuses!

I dislike people who whine.  I dislike all those who bitch and complain. Why do I do it then?  Maybe I think I have a good reason for it.  I have not chosen my plight.  It came without warning.  And it has gone on for too long. And I had never been sick before nor had any kind of surgery.  Is this a good excuse?  Well, it is for me now

These days I am a double whiner. Guido has very bad back problems, something that had not happened in a long time. It used to happen more often. After his surgery in 1976  he has never been completely well.  But now it cam back at a time when I am feeling very sick. And we have nobody who can help.

Jean-Paul and Ludy came to visit on Friday, but they could not stay long, since Guido could not be up.  It is at times like this one that I feel even worse for not being closer to our daughters, who are really the only ones who know how to help us.

To make matters worse, Thanksgiving is coming up.  It is a holiday that makes families get together, eat, talk, eat, reminisce, eat, shop…  What will we be eating?  Same as every other day. Yes, we can give thanks that we are together, but at times it doesn’t even seem like that. We are both so down and so tired that we don’t talk much to each other …  Sad, very sad, indeed 😦

What cheers me up? Some great Facebook friends, who keep sending me the most heartfelt and supportive messages; reading; listening to music; watching films. All are isolated and isolating pastimes, but that’s all I have now.

Some ask if the weather affects me.  It does not.  It doesn’t matter if it is sunny or cloudy.  I am at home and it makes no difference.  Even if I have to got see the doctor, all I do is get in the car inside the garage, and get out of it when we reach the doctor’s office. Not much.  I am not allowed to drive, so I have to depend on others too much.  Again – sad, very sad indeed.

So, better stop here an go watch some funny movies (Mel Brooks, for one, or the Coen brothers), or listen to Tom  Lehrer’s songs or to Les Luthiers (an Argentine group, in spite of their name). They make me laugh out loud, and it feels good!

Good night and good luck!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Am A Whiner. Why Not? Good Excuses!

  1. Anna Amato says:

    I have to agree with your comment that you have not chosen your plight; therefore, I say it’s not whining. I have a dear friend who’s chosen her plight and when she complains it’s really whining.

    I would read milk cartons and cereal boxes if I couldn’t read books so I think whatever your choices are works for you. I do have one quick suggestion – Groucho Marx movies for pure silliness help too!

  2. martisima says:

    Thanks so much, cara Anna! How could I have forgotten the Marx brothers??? I’ll get to them right away!

    I am glad you agree that I am not whining. I hope others see it too!

    Ciao! martha

  3. Kathleen McLaughlin says:

    Dearest Martha,

    You have a right to complain as so do I. Don’t ever feel you have to make an excuse for how you feel. You need to vent or it’ll bite you in the behind. It’s toxic to hold it in.

    Jack Nicholson in “As Good As It Gets”! If you can get past his intolerance in the beginning, you’ll enjoy it. It’s the only comedy I like. I’m a tough nut when it comes to things I find funny. I hate gross out, bathroom humor comedy, don’t get British humor, like subtle humor where you have to work at figuring it out, and then, rolling on the floor, busting a gut while you’re laughing kind of movie. I hope you enjoy it.

    Don’t worry about the naysayers re complaining. They have never experienced life-changing diseases or syndromes, therefore, they don’t have the sufficient empathy to understand. Then, there are some people who are down-right mean. I steer clear of them, all negativity, and stick with “my own kind” who know and understand what I’m going through. They are kindred spirits! We must have been related in a past life because I thought abut funny movies a couple of days ago, thinking of you.

    Gentle Hugs!

    Kat

  4. martisima says:

    Thanks so much, dear Kat!!! I do remember that film, and I loved it. Don’t forget I am a film junkie too. I have about 5000 films in my Netflix queue, but I have been reading more lately and not watching as many films…

    You are a very special friend, and I hope that some day we can meet personally when you get you award for best first novel 😉

    Your support and your kindness are helping me very much. I truly appreciate all you give me!

    More hugs,
    martha

Leave a Reply

