Giving Thanks

So – today is Thanksgiving.  We give thanks one day of the year?  What about the rest? And why do we celebrate a legend?

I give thanks every day
for having my husband with me after 51 years;
for having two wonderful daughters, a great son-in-law and another great son-out-of-law;
for being able to live in an adequate house, with all the basics;
for being able to buy and eat food every day;
for having a comfortable bed;
for being able to see the sun and the rain, and for smelling the leaves and feeling the air;
for being able to read so many great books (I don’t think I’ll ever be able to finish them all); for being able to listen to heavenly music (from classical to opera to tango to folklore to       country to Brazilian to jazz to the four and only Beatles!);
for having so many special friends who fill my days with support and love, even though most live far from me;

And today
for all the good wishes I received through the mail and Facebook;
for my friend Anna Capoccia who cooked the turkey and the trimmings, and her husband Loreto, who brought them here;
for my friend Ludy Grandas who bought food for us, and Jean-Paul Dumont who brought it and stayed to keep Guido company for a while;
for our daughters who can celebrate it together, waiting for us to be with them soon.

BUT – No thanks to all the doctors we are seeing, paying, and not getting results 😦

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Giving Thanks

  1. David Bishop says:

    I can feel your frustration while reading your blog. You are in our prayers and you will be your old self again!

    • martisima says:

      Thanks so much, Dave! Your books have helped me a lot, and I am now eagerly looking forward to the next ones. Reading is very relaxing, and I can forget my problems while I am at it.

  2. Princess Solange Von Sachs says:

    Well, I still believe that despite all the frustration you endure– i.e. the doctors, tests, fatigue, etc.–,one day you’ll be well again. And then you can move to San Francisco to be near your daughters.

    Sorry to say this, but your ongoing euro-snobbery gets a tad tedious.

  3. Valerie Francescato says:

    I don’t know who you are, Princess Solange Von Sachs, but please refrain from making nasty comments on here. My mother uses this blog as a way to get out her frustrations, and she does not need snide remarks. If you don’t like it, don’t read it.

    -Martha’s baby daughter.

  4. Kathleen McLaughlin says:

    Dearest Martha,

    I’ve noticed recently since I’ve been ‘out’ in the world that not only are people ignorant of the suffering of people with diseases, disabilities, and syndromes, but they get down-right hostile with us. What is their issue! A sub-conscious, defense mechanism barring them from ever thinking that they, too, may fall victim to an insidious disease? A general intolerance accorded to all people they see? An increase in the numbers of psychopaths who don’t encompass empathy? I’ve been assaulted by disturbed, embittered drama queens who have nothing better to do than step on and kick people who are already down on the ground because of all the symptoms we experience, because of the frustrations we feel with an inadequate medical community, and because of the resiliency that remains, manifested in our tireless efforts to strive to be the best despite and because of our infirmities. I think it makes them angry because their heartless words only make us stronger. They are incensed that their petty, little lives produce nothing of value, they having no excuses for not having achieved anything of value, yet we who are struggling remain steadfast in our hearts to strive to be the best we can be and continue to reach out to others who are also hurting despite our own pain. Those heartless nobodies are hurdles placed in our paths. Even if we can’t jump over them, having to crawl under them on our bellies, the point is we move beyond them despite their pathetic desires to stop us in our endeavors. We win in the end, and they are left frustrated and confused, too stupid to recognize that what makes them tick is really an exploding time-bomb that leaves their lives destroyed. A sad commentary on those miscreant misfits and a pox upon their souls…If they ever possessed one…

  5. Kathleen McLaughlin says:

    Aside from the snide comments from the ‘princess,’ I’m glad you have the friends you have regarding Thanksgiving.

    Love and Hugs!

    Kat

  6. martisima says:

    I can’t help but making an obvious observation — Argentina, where I am from, is in South America, not in Europe… Get out your maps, please!

  7. Kat McLaughlin says:

    I woke up in the middle of the night, having hit upon a realization and finding it humorous. I thought about what the ‘princess’ said about ‘euro-snobbery.’ It’s quite apparent to all of us that she desires to be part of said ‘euro-snobbery,’ evidenced by her self-crowning of ‘princess.’ Ironic, isn’t it? More like Queen Drama than Princess Solange Von Sachs, but then, that would elevate her wouldn’t it? Only in her mind’s eye…

  8. Anna Amato says:

    I just came on to thank you – saw this post and was really annoyed at the ‘princess’ I am grateful for Daniel Silva’s page which brought me to you – and I am grateful that you have shared yourself with all of us – and I’m grateful for A Discovery of Witches which I was deeply engrossed in when I picked up the latest JD Robb because I had ordered it from the library – read 3 or 4 chapters and said ‘anna rose,,,,,what are you doing, go back to that wonderful book!’ Thank you, thank you! I am grateful to know Valeria and Rosanna and others who are in you life through your posts and I did get a chuckle out of Argentina being in Europe – I must pick up a new Atlas!

  9. martisima says:

    And I thank you too, dear Anna. Who would have known we’d become friends because of a mutual Facebook writer? It keeps happening, and I love it!

    I read A Discovery of Witches three times. It may seem strange, but for some reason, I am drawn to it. I never cared much for vampires… This one is quite different, though.

    You have been a very good friend all along, and I thank you warmly for it!

Leave a Reply

