Doctors and Films and Books and Friends

We decided I needed to talk to Dr. P personally, as the e-mail “conversations” were getting me nowhere.  We went there today.  It’s really better, as I could tell him exactly what was going on.  I seem to be getting worse rather than better with the new treatment he had endorsed. So, now he thinks that maybe what I have is not directly related to the thyroid.  This is not new.  He’s been saying it for some time. I “countertalked” and reminded him that before the surgery I was in extremely good health.  How does he account for the change?  He said that maybe the anesthesia or something else during surgery triggered another something else… Get it?  We ended up, after almost an hour, having more blood drawn — from me 😉 and with his request that we all do some Internet research on causes of fatigue, my main complaint, especially since I am so good at it (his words)!!! I   am   stuck!!!

On to a different topic, since the health issue is better left alone for now. I don’t want to think about it, even though I am feeling very sick… What else is going on?  My project regarding Cortázar’s letters seems to be going very well, as there is a lot of interest in his work. I have also found an unpublished interview we did way back in 1975, but I can’t find the transcription. I do have the cassette, though, so if the transcription is hiding somewhere in the vast disarray of my study, all is not lost.

We’ve had a crazy winter, with no snow. This week the temperature has been going up into the 80s, more typical of Summer than of Winter. It is only March!  But for me it really doesn’t make much difference. I read a lot, and watch films. Mostly oldies and classics, but also some recent ones, such as Melancholia, by the Danish director Lars von Trier, and The Skin I live In by Pedro Almodóvar.  What I liked best about the latter one was Antonio Banderas  😉   At 52, he is back with his former director, he is a great actor, and he is soooooo very handsome (why is it that people focus on George Clooney, when Banderas is more than a pretty face?  I know this will get me in trouble with some, but I feel it strongly.) As for the film, it is not one of Almodóvar’s best.  As with the one before, Broken Embraces, it seems to be a road downwards for the brilliant director. Unless you take this one as a comedy, a wild stretch, you are left with a feeling of having been swindled – that’s how I felt. The film was too absurd to be taken seriously, but I fear that’s how we are expected to view it…as a horror film. But even as such, it has many inconsistencies.

As far as books, I came across a great one, thanks to an article in The New YorkerThe Patagonian Hare: A Memoir by Claude Lanzmann. This is a far cry from the “lighter” ones I’ve been reading lately, but I hasten to add that I mean no disrespect for these. On the contrary; they are still very satisfying and make your brain work overtime, at least mine, something I badly need.  My favorite writers?  Deborah Crombie, Mona Risk, David Bishop, Deborah Harkness, Lee Child, Dorothy MacIntosh, Abraham Verghese, Louise Penny, Donna Carrick, Daniel Silva, Tana French, Stieg Larsen, Geraldine Brooks, and so many others whose names don’t come to mind at this time (sorry…)  But I have to be careful – I already have almost 500 books on my Kindle.  And I know there are many out there who claim there is nothing like paper for books. I used to think the same until I got sick.  Now that I cannot hold a “real” book in my weak hands, I am extremely grateful for Kindle, easy and light (and I am saving the trees, small consolation)…

‘Tis time to stop if I am not careful.  I don’t write here that much, but when I do I cannot stop.  Maybe that’s why I don’t do it much.  I get too tired too often.  But it is another window to the world, in addition to Facebook.  As I told Dr. P today – I do not feel isolated. I have gained many new friends, and they are very special to me!

Good night and good luck! 

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctors and Films and Books and Friends

  1. Peggy says:

    Martha you’re a wonderful writer!!!!!!
    you should write a novel!!!!
    Do hope your health gets better…
    Love Peggy

    • martisima says:

      No, dear Peggy! I am better at reading and helping others. I could not write a novel. I marvel at the ones who can do it and realize how difficult it is!

      Thanks anyway (Gracias mil!)

  2. Kat McLaughlin says:

    Hi, M.!

    Absolutely agree with you on Clooney vs. Banderas! Fell in lust with Banderas many years ago and envy Melanie Griffith. Are they still together?

    We had the opposite weather, snow on March 17th, St. Patrick’s Day! I though I’d have to cancel the one day of the year where I have family at my house. All went well despite the snow.

    Know I miss and love you. See you soon as the NCAPM wraps up and I’m back to the Kat Kave to work on BC’s revision.

    Your sister,

    Kat

  3. martisima says:

    My dear Kat — I love what you say about feeling in lust with Banderas. I did too!!! And yes. He is not fickle, like Clooney. And he is still married to Melanie Griffith and they have a daughter (although Melanie complains that he is not too supportive of her regarding her drinking problems. Not to worry– I happened to read this. I do NOT follow Hollywood gossip at all!).

    You had snow. We had (and still have) Summer temperatures!

    I also miss you, and hope we can get back to your manuscript soon. It needs to be published!!!!!

    Love,
    Sister martha

Leave a Reply

