More on Doctors and Friends and Films and Books and Food and Facebook

The Ides of March have come and gone and I haven’t noticed them. What do I notice now?  Not much… What I see from the windows of the house or occasionally from the car when I go to my doctors’ appointments (I am now seeing four – doctors, I mean 😉 I cannot go out.  I’d love to, but I simply cannot do it.

After having done my research for Dr. P. I sent him the link with my findings. The links for “causes of fatigue” were numerous, and they were all about the same, but I chose the one from the Mayo Clinic so that Dr. P knew it was “scientific”, as he likes to call those articles from places he knows and can accept. As if…

He had me do some special tests, and they all showed some slight “abnormalities”, as he calls them, but he insists that most are natural in someone my age. Please do not remind me. I do not feel old, in spite of the fact that I am sick.  And I am not that old either.  Since when is 77 old?  Middle aged, maybe.  So, my illness is called “getting older” now…

Yes – it will soon be three years from surgery and doctors are still clueless as to my treatment. I do lots of research, but it is highly controversial, so at the end I am more confused than when I started.  And what others do does not help, as with any thyroid issue, it varies from one person to another.

I am trying to be strong, but it is not easy when I can barely make it out of bed. I do, however, and try hard every day to get out of my pajamas, take a shower and get dressed, even if it happens generally at around 5:00pm… and then we have to think about dinner, another burden 😦 Fortunately, there is still one friend left who has redoubled her concern for us and brings us dinner at least once a week. Every time she makes a dish for her family, she makes extra for us, when it’s something that can be shared! I can’t believe she is the only one left who does it after such a long time.  Others are strewn on the road to our place, never having made it again.

There are so many books out there it is hard to keep track. I keep adding them to my Kindle and then don’t know what they are. Crazy!  But I need to have them so that one day I’ll be able to get to them all.  I do reread many of the books I like, and I have come to the realization that it is the only way to truly enjoy and understand them.

Films are also good companions, and there are quite a few I am enjoying.  One I highly recommend is *Nostalgia for the Light*, a Chilean  documentary that left me speechless. The scenery is gorgeous – the Atacama Desert,  a plateau covering a 600-mile (1,000 km) strip of land on the Pacific coast, west of the Andes mountains. It is, according to NASA and many publications, the driest desert in the world.  The film shows us the work being conducted by many astronomers from around the world -in the skies and with the stars – only to bring us abruptly down to earth, where some women roam the desert with spades, looking for the bones of their loved ones who disappeared under the dictatorship of Pinochet, who had built a concentration camp there. It is not melodramatic but manages to stay poetic all the time.  A must see!

I still have not watched Downton Abbey, even though I have purchased the two seasons. Maybe I am waiting for the whole series… I also got the urge to go back to watching Battlestar Galactica, since I have all the DVDs and remember having liked it. It is very different form others of its kind, although never competing with Star Trek 😉  In addition, I have some of the Wallander DVDs (the “real” ones, meaning from Sweden), as well as the Stieg Larsen trilogy, worth watching again and again (also the Swedish one.)

Now that I have my new computer it is easier for me to write. Not that I have more energy, but at least it works. Guido got tired of hearing me swear at the old one that froze all the time and took forever to load.  Although it was only five years old, he said it is too much in computer “life”. That’s OK with me.  I like this one, and the monitor is huge!

I also realize that I post a lot on my Facebook Wall, and most of the friends who follow my blog are also there, so they know many other things that I am not going to repeat here. I always thank Facebook for having brought me closer to some friends and to my family (even the ones from Buenos Aires!), but also to have brought me new and dear ones. And I have my chocolate handy, always…

In spite of everything, I feel loved!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More on Doctors and Friends and Films and Books and Food and Facebook

  1. Valerie says:

    Did you ever watch Castle? I think you’d like it.

  2. Vicky says:

    Hola Martha,

    I showed my husband what you wrote about the Desierto de Atacama because he grew up there. He and his family have ties to the Provincia de Antofagasta where his father was born and where his grandfather (who migrated from Norway) was a pioneer mining engineer for the Guggenheim brothers at the beginning of the last century. My husband jokingly says he still has parched lips from the dry wind which typically sweeps the dry pampas that are rich in nitrate and copper. Once in ten years a drop of rain falls on the pampa soil and then the blossoming of the desert can be witnessed. The phenomenon is called El Desierto Florido. He attributes that “dry” experience to the reason he loves living in Florida, the center of humidity for the northern tropics 🙂

    Here’s raising a glass of Argentinean wine to you and your quest to get stronger and healthy again!

    Vicky

    P.S. I like Castle, too. It’s fun and has great chemistry between the main protagonists.

    • martisima says:

      Hola Vicky!

      What an interesting coincidence! You should watch the movie, then. I’m sure he’ll love it. Netflix has it. I’d like to hear his comments.

      Thanks, too, for telling me about Castle. I need some new things to watch!

      Do raise not one but many glasses of Argentine wine, please! Thanks for your kind words,
      martha

  3. Mona Risk says:

    Hi Martha,
    I wish I lived close to you. To think I cooked so much today and yesterday. I wish you could have come for dinner. I’ll pray for you tomorrow at Mass.

Leave a Reply

