Mondays and Appointments and More Doctors and More Books and More Films and…

Monday. The first day of the week according to a calendar on my office wall (it is French); the second, according to another calendar on the kitchen refrigerator (from the USofA).  I always knew that the week starts on Monday. Not here. Most calendars start the week on Sunday. I have to research this, as it has always been puzzling and I have never asked why.  Bad, bad, bad.  Need to know!

I was supposed to go to Baltimore today to see Dr.V at Mercy Hospital. They had not called to remind me of my appointment, so just to be on the safe side I called them.  Mistake – the receptionist had forgotten to press who knows what button (her justification), and I had been deleted. I don’t exist – as a patient at least.  Had to reschedule.  Grrrrrr   Too complicated in my difficult life. Yes. I mean it!  I have several other appointments (all with doctors – hematologist, cardiologist, other ists…), and I prefer to have one per week.  No news today.  Sorry!

What else?  I really don’t know.  I continue reading, and find that I have many, way too many, new books.  The number on my Kindle alone has reached the 600 mark already. But the curious thing is that I read one or two “new” ones, and then I go back and reread others.  I am doing that now with Stieg Larsson’s trilogy, and watching the films at the same time. I had to yield to temptation and saw the US version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  It was OK, but the Swedish original still seems truer to the book, although shorter.  Conclusion: watch both versions.  It’s good for the spirit and for the brain to compare.  I wonder why they find “her” (no names so that those who have not read the books don’t feel cheated) in London in the US version, when both in the book and in the Swedish version she is in Australia. Go figure. Some changes are understandable; others are not.

I also got several gifts, one in the way of excellent meals. Some friends arrive at this conclusion (they are the smart ones)  😉 : when they make food for them and their family, they make a bit extra and bring it over.  Great idea!  They all know we don’t eat that much, and what they do is more helpful than anyone can imagine!!!  Then, other friends who live far away and can’t bring food sent me another type of food, one for the soul – the complete Lord of the Rings on DVD!!!  Now I’ll have a truly movable feast – food and film from friends (note the alliteration, please. Aren’t you impressed?) 😉

Will go back to read on now, but many friends want to know what the doctor told me.  We’ll have to wait until the 19the for this particular point of view.  Today I got the results of the latest tests – three different ones in three weeks –  and now I have to go again this week for more 😦 With these, Guido could do a “ratio” that showed I am back where I was in February 2011, when I was taking exactly the same dosage of the thyroid medication I am taking now. But Dr V had recommended it, and I want to show my DH and all others that I am willing to try another “endocriminologist.”  Still, there must be one out there who can help!!!!!!!!!!!  I am good at research, they say, but this is something not easily researched.

As I said, it is Monday, the beginning of yet another week that should have given me more answers but that will stay in the dark again.  Not new.  I am beginning to think this is the norm rather than the exception…

Good night and good luck!

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mondays and Appointments and More Doctors and More Books and More Films and…

  1. Martha, just wanted to say I was thinking about you. Sorry for the frustrating day, but it always improves MY day to see a post or a Facebook comment from you. xox debs

    • martisima says:

      Thanks, Debs!!! I don’t want to upset my friends, so I am glad my posts improve your day. You are very special to me. Will always be! Your books have helped me more than you know, and they have improved MANY days.

      xoxo,
      martha

Leave a Reply

