Another Week, Another Doctor; Past Anniversary; Tara (My Car); Quirks…

Sunday 22 April was either the last day of the week, according to the calendar in my study, or the first one of this week, according to the one in the kitchen. Whichever – it was still our 52nd wedding anniversary.  We celebrated modestly, in our feeble condition, but were happy we reached it.  We also received many cards, messages, phone calls from friends and relatives from all over, many through Facebook too.  There was also a box of scrumptious chocolate covered strawberries (not the ones from Shari’s Berries nor Harry and David). These were local and truly splendid!  It was comforting to know most of our friends still care.  A phone call or a message warms our hearts, especially now! And our hearts were “warmed” on Sunday. Thanks, dear daughters, sons-in (and out)- law (who sang to us 😉 ), cousins, friends…

On Thursday I had an appointment with Dr. S, who is an “integrative” physician. This means he is open to all and any kind of treatment and medication, although he tends to favor the natural supplements.  He is now trying to help my adrenal function, which is not good.  I wonder why many other doctors rely on a blood test, when the only way to really know about the adrenal function is to monitor it throughout the day. When I showed my new (and maybe by now former) “endocriminologist” the results of the saliva test he smirked and shoved them aside. My symptoms correspond entirely with adrenal fatigue, yet only Dr. S is open to treatment. This is also a cause of frustration, in addition to all the others. But, of course, as with any new treatment, we need to wait. The results are not instantaneous…

I need to have Tara, my car, operating so I can do my own shopping.  I am tired of depending on others or running through the grocery stores when Guido takes me so that he doesn’t become too tired (men are like that in any store, it seems…;) ) Poor Tara is somewhat sick. She is already 17 years old and needs some minor surgery, but then someone has to take her to the dealer and pick her up when they are done.  Guido is not that well these days, and I need to be given the go ahead to drive!  Catch 22 for sure… 😦

Yesterday we had the pleasure of an uncommon visit. I call it uncommon because it was from a writer I had met online. We became close, and I helped her some with her new novels. Vicky lives in Florida, and had to come here with her husband because one of their daughters lives in D.C., but is moving to New York. They came to help her, and as they were in the area, they dropped by.  I could not be a decent hostess, but they understand.  It was quite a treat. I wish more writers would visit! I have met quite a few through Facebook.  I love being a beta reader! I am now doing it for five writers.

Next week (or this one, if we take Sunday to be the beginning 😉 ) I have my weekly appointment, this time with a hematologist. We’ll see what he thinks about my slightly elevated white cell count. He is really good (and Mexican, which helps), and he has seen me before for this very same problem, although he thought it was nothing serious but just a quirk. Since it came back, I was encouraged to discuss it with him.

I am full of quirks, it seems, so it may be better to stop now before I go into a quirky overdrive…

By the way, I am still sick, in case you want to know.  No – nothing has changed, unfortunately!!!

♥♥ღϠ₡ღ♥

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Week, Another Doctor; Past Anniversary; Tara (My Car); Quirks…

  1. sophiaknightly says:

    Dear Martha,

    It was an absolute pleasure to meet my wonderful beta reader in person! When I am in DC again, I will visit you and Guido.

    Fingers crossed you get some answers from your doctor this week.

    Abrazos,
    Vicky aka Sophia Knightly

    • martisima says:

      Dear Vicky/Sophia,

      It was our pleasure to meet you and Paul. I had already been a fan of your books. Now I am a fan of you as a wonderful person! I do hope you come back to visit and wish I can be a better hostess…

      Doctors – no real answers yet. They keep trying new supplements and new tests and new ideas, but I don’t get better. Thanks for your support!

      Abrazos,
      martha

Leave a Reply

