Former Students and Previous Blog

Strangely enough, my previous blog has been the object of very kind words and understanding from my good (and mostly new) friends, as well as defensive attitudes from others.  Nobody is too busy to care for friends. In general, people are busy because they choose to be. As I told one of the friends who wrote a comment, all those who took the time to write are mostly writers who are more than busy with their professional as well as their personal lives!  You can read their comments here.

Then I got an extra positive charge from Facebook. One former student posted a comment, together with a photo (I’ll try to insert it here). This started a chain:  it was followed by another post by another former student, and more messages by email.  They don’t realize how much those words help.  Knowing that somehow I could do something for them and that I am still part of their lives and they remember me is extremely rewarding and it warms my heart and soul!  See? I complain only when there is a reason for doing it.

Here it is (She is holding a story by Borges we read in class…):

Azuka Boutcher
Cortazar I read with pleasure. Borges always made me afraid. I was nervous that I would read it and not get it. It still scares me. Martha Paley Francescato your classes are still one of the greatest moments of my life. i miss it so much. you taught me how books can BLOW YOUR MIND….i grab my old books from class and seeing all my notes takes me back into my seat at my desk and i can hear your voice talking, steady and low but with a certain rhythm

Another student wrote (sorry – it is in Spanish):

Querida Martha, tus clases de literatura fueron extraordinarias para mi y me traen muy lindos recuerdos. Te estoy eternamente agradecida por todo lo que nos enseñaste. Feliz dia! Un abrazo, Natalia

This post, then, is to let those who really care know how much I appreciate their friendship and their constant support. No kvetching this time! I can appreciate the good (not positive, notice) things in life!

Now I can say THANK YOU!

♥ღϠ₡ღ♥♥ LOVE ♥♥ღϠ₡ღ♥

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Former Students and Previous Blog

  1. asuka says:

    I was so nervous about posting that. i am nervous about everything with you…not in a bad way though. bc you are like a mother figure to me, and i want to be sure i make you proud. I admire from afar….i wrote a letter to myself about what a coward i am…..but i wrote to myself….the way that i will honor my FAVORITE professor and a woman that seemed to change the course of my life will be to pay it forward. I need to NOT be embarrassed and freely express my feelings toward you….i count the people that influenced me most in my life on one hand, and you are on that list and i will always be thankful of it and often in my daily routine i think “what would profe say about this” and reminisce to the days of your class, how i miss it so much. you were so smart, and so funny in a dark way. I was always in awe.

    • martisima says:

      I m deeply moved and very surprised, dear Azuka!!! I never though t I’d be intimidating to anyone. With my height (4’10”) how can I be? I hope it is not that which is holding you to express your thoughts. Why be embarrassed? If you had not written this I would never have known how you feel and be honored and proud and humbled and deeply touched by you.

      Also, remember what I have said very often – it is the students who make the instructor better. When I could tell that you were interested and smart and eager to learn, it made me give more of myself too.

      Gracias, gracias, gracias!!!!!! ♥♥♥

  2. sophiaknightly says:

    I’m not surprised, by your students’ beautiful accolades. I’m sure you were quite an inspiration to your students. It must be a wonderful feeling to know you touched so many lives, dear Martha!

  3. palmaferre says:

    My dearest TEACHER (Yes, it has to be capitalized when referring to you): as I have said before, you are one of a kind, both as a teacher and as a person. Though years have gone by, I remember my classes with you, at GMU, with much love and appreciation. There are many teachers who teach, but only a handful (and you are among them) are able to teach with their heart. You loved what you taught and that’s what made so many of us (your students) love you and your classes too. I could go on and on but may it suffice to say that you have in me an eternal disciple and an ever-thankful student. And, please, do go on delighting and enlightening us with your blogs.

    • martisima says:

      My dear STUDENT, Dario. It also has to be capitalized when referring to you. Teaching is a two way endeavor. If the students are not responsive, it is wasted. And you have been one of those who were not only intelligent, but also interested and highly enthusiastic.

      Thanks for your warm words, my “eternal disciple”!!!

Leave a Reply

